We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$102
FindHotelUS$108
PricelineUS$108
Agoda.comUS$108
EtripUS$108
Orbitz.com
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
62
27
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
27
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 94 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2020

Our two-night stay at the Colonial Motel was very pleasant. The hosts were exceptionally friendly and likable and the accommodations were ultra-clean and comfortable. We especially liked the modern decor. It was peak tourist season when we stayed, and although the place was full up, our room was quiet and peaceful for a good night's sleep. We will definitely stay again, if foreign travel ever becomes a thing again....

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klvmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 March 2020

Very friendly welcome from Peter in this classicly styled motel when we arrived for a one night stay. Reasonable size room with living, dining and kitchen areas plus two double bedrooms. The bathroom is small with shower. Kitchen has a hob, kettle, toaster, electric frying pan and fridge. The internet is very slow @ 9Mbps / 12 which was just enough for emails, but not streaming. There is however 52 Sky channels. There is a small pool next to reception and parking is outside the room. As we were nearest to the road it was quite noisy with heavy vehicles, even through the night.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAS1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter Etheredge, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2020

Thank you for your review as it is always helpful to us to have feedback. It is appreciated.
We are next to the main highway so it does get quite busy especially during grape harvest time.
The old router has been replaced and things have improved. We do have the ultra fast broadband.
Bathrooms may be small but they are functional and the lounges are spacious. great kitchens and bedrooms are reasonably sized.
Thank you for your stay and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst visiting Blenheim, We received a very warm welcome and were given a couple of recommendations for wine tours and chose one of them for our spare day. We were staying in one of the disabled adapted rooms which had a parking space right outside for your convenience.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 007_Richard_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter Etheredge, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you very much Richard for your very kind and positive review which we appreciate very much.
You seem to have enjoyed your stay and the room so thank you for your visit.
We hope that you will be able to return to us one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Peter and Shona are very nice hosts. We first stayed about 12 years and ago and have been back many times. They are so friendly and helpful. This time we stayed for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The place is very clean.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank TonynLynnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter Etheredge, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Thank you Tony & Lynnda for your stay and your great review and comments.We really enjoy hosting and catching up with you and look forward to your return.
Your feedback is certainly very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2019

We went on a mission north to south and back in a couple of days and we ended up booking in Saturday night. Well the owners of this motel went way beyond for us I was towing a large trailer he organized parking left lights on and set our room up heater and blankets on he even left us some chocolate fish. I cant say thank you enough for them letting us check in so late and they offered to let us drop the trailer while we went into town.
We have done a lot of travel in NZ and around the world and this has to be the cleanest room we have seen along with the best service we have had

Room tip: If you are in Blenhiem dont go past this place
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steve619
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2019

Thank you so very much for this wonderful review and great comments. It was a pleasure to do this for you and is what we try to do all the time. It is what one would call old fashioned hospitality.Hope you do come our way again and experience the same standard of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews