We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sammy

Fantastic stay & we’ll be back!!

Review of Colonial Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jan 2022via mobile
From the phone call to book through to our departure, the hosts were fantastic, friendly & made us feel very welcome.
The room was really nice & clean, the kids loved the pool and we will define stay again next time we are passing through.
Was also great to be able to have our wee dog stay with us in the room.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $224
  • Hotels.com
    $220
1.2 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$138
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$341
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.8 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Executive Air Conditioned King Spa Studio Unit -  Full kitchenette offering microwave, stove top, tea & coffee making facilities, dining table & chairs. Our units are serviced daily and really are your home away from home Free WIFI and 43" Smart TV offering 21 freeview channels and streaming
$192
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $192
  • Hotels.com
    $192
1.3 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $110
  • Expedia.com
    $125
1.2 km from Colonial Motel
Free parking
Pool
$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $183
  • Hotels.com
    $180
1.4 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
happy campers
$93
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $91
  • Hotels.com
    $93
1.4 km from Colonial Motel
Free parking
Pool
$198
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$162
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $137
  • Expedia.com
    $145
2.7 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside of units
$183
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $177
  • Expedia.com
    $183
1.6 km from Colonial Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Blenheim
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
63
29
6
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
29
6
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two bedroom unit comfortable hotel motel hosts sheets kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2020

Our two-night stay at the Colonial Motel was very pleasant. The hosts were exceptionally friendly and likable and the accommodations were ultra-clean and comfortable. We especially liked the modern decor. It was peak tourist season when we stayed, and although the place was full up, our room was quiet and peaceful for a good night's sleep. We will definitely stay again, if foreign travel ever becomes a thing again....

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klvmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2020

Very friendly welcome from Peter in this classicly styled motel when we arrived for a one night stay. Reasonable size room with living, dining and kitchen areas plus two double bedrooms. The bathroom is small with shower. Kitchen has a hob, kettle, toaster, electric frying pan and fridge. The internet is very slow @ 9Mbps / 12 which was just enough for emails, but not streaming. There is however 52 Sky channels. There is a small pool next to reception and parking is outside the room. As we were nearest to the road it was quite noisy with heavy vehicles, even through the night.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NAS1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Etheredge, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2020

Thank you for your review as it is always helpful to us to have feedback. It is appreciated.
We are next to the main highway so it does get quite busy especially during grape harvest time.
The old router has been replaced and things have improved. We do have the ultra fast broadband.
Bathrooms may be small but they are functional and the lounges are spacious. great kitchens and bedrooms are reasonably sized.
Thank you for your stay and comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights whilst visiting Blenheim, We received a very warm welcome and were given a couple of recommendations for wine tours and chose one of them for our spare day. We were staying in one of the disabled adapted rooms which had a parking space right outside for your convenience.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 007_Richard_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Etheredge, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2020

Thank you very much Richard for your very kind and positive review which we appreciate very much.
You seem to have enjoyed your stay and the room so thank you for your visit.
We hope that you will be able to return to us one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2020

Peter and Shona are very nice hosts. We first stayed about 12 years and ago and have been back many times. They are so friendly and helpful. This time we stayed for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The place is very clean.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank TonynLynnda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter Etheredge, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2020

Thank you Tony & Lynnda for your stay and your great review and comments.We really enjoy hosting and catching up with you and look forward to your return.
Your feedback is certainly very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2019

We went on a mission north to south and back in a couple of days and we ended up booking in Saturday night. Well the owners of this motel went way beyond for us I was towing a large trailer he organized parking left lights on and set our room up heater and blankets on he even left us some chocolate fish. I cant say thank you enough for them letting us check in so late and they offered to let us drop the trailer while we went into town.
We have done a lot of travel in NZ and around the world and this has to be the cleanest room we have seen along with the best service we have had

Room tip: If you are in Blenhiem dont go past this place
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank steve619
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter E, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2019

Thank you so very much for this wonderful review and great comments. It was a pleasure to do this for you and is what we try to do all the time. It is what one would call old fashioned hospitality.Hope you do come our way again and experience the same standard of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews