We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$1,380
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
$1,435
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Elizabeth S
Free Union, Virginia
Uniquely New Zealand estate, garden with excellent restaurant, world class small boutique hotel in a beautiful setting.
Review of The Marlborough
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Feb 2024via mobile
Beautiful and elegant, friendly and intimate with a feel for high end elegance in a cosy setting. Having stayed there with family on a private tour in its earlier years, we had a chance to revisit for a special dinner with a group this visit to wine country, what a gem, a must visit spot in the heart of NZ wine country
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Well located and easy to find, near some notable vineyards, reserve ahead
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
    $180
5.8 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $127
  • Expedia.com
    $145
5.8 km from The Marlborough
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $191
  • Expedia.com
    $202
6.3 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Studio
Booking.com
$178
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    $178
  • Vio.com
6.0 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Air Conditioned King Spa Studio Unit -  Full kitchenette offering microwave, stove top, tea & coffee making facilities, dining table & chairs. Our units are serviced daily and really are your home away from home Free WIFI and 43" Smart TV offering 21 freeview channels and streaming
Booking.com
$220
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $232
  • Expedia.com
    $237
  • Hotels.com
    $236
6.4 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $167
  • Expedia.com
    $171
4.8 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$135
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Vio.com
6.0 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$540
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $487
  • Expedia.com
    $542
7.4 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$197
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $211
6.9 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$165
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $166
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $165
6.1 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Blenheim
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
152
11
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
152
11
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor fireplace new zealand breakfast and dinner exceptional hospitality hotels around the world gracious service pre dinner drinks rooms are gorgeous heated swimming pool each evening our honeymoon following morning wine country glass of wine great room stayed two nights chapel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2023 via mobile

This is a beautiful inn in the heart of Marlborough wine country. The rooms a spacious and the service is impeccable. From the moment we walked in the door we were treated like family, not just guests. Everything about the place is first rate, from the peronal attention of the staff to the complimentary wine and hors d'oeuvres in the evening, to the grounds, parts of which are reserved for guests only. And they encouraged us to pick the fruit right off the trees, which we did! Our "host" Rob was wonderful to us during our stay, always making sure we had everything we needed.

Topping it off is the Harvest restaurant, which you enter through a hidden hallway from the Inn. The food there is excellent. While we were there, the restaurant won a "hat," which we were told is the New Zealand equivalent of a Michelin star.

Our daughter, who has traveled extensively and stayed at many fine hotels, said the Marlborough was the best place she's ever stayed. I agree.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank tal111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2023

We stayed in wonderful properties in New Zealand but The Marlborough House was my favorite. (and I loved the others) There was something so special about this property. Just the right size to be secluded and intimate with the possibility of meeting others. Phenomenal restaurant with service to match. Wonderful touches like happy hour in the garden, and gift shop with excellent small mostly handmade gifts. Rooms are gorgeous with amazing bathrooms and all the amenities.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ina504
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Marlborough, General Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2023

Dear ina504

Lovely to have you stay and very happy to hear that you enjoyed what we have here at The Marlborough and that we could make your stay memorable.
Hope to see you back this way when next visiting NZ .
Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2023

We stayed two nights at this lovely inn. Check-in included a bit of a tour of the property, including some commentary on its interesting history (check out the photo album in the lobby area). Our premium room was very comfortable and included gorgeous views over the vineyard. We enjoyed the complimentary happy hour each evening by the outdoor fireplace and delicious meals, breakfast and dinner, in the restaurant. The property is quiet and beautifully landscaped.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Juja80301
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Marlborough, General Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2023

Dear Juja80301

Thank you for taking the time to review

We certainly do have an interesting history with the move of this building to this site some 30 years ago hard to believe when looking at it now as seems like it must always have been there

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2023 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel! This is a real gem, attention to detail in the rooms, furnishing, food, everything. We were offered a glass of wine on arrival produced in their own vineyards. Our room was stunning leading on to a balcony that ran all around the first floor. Mini bar was complimentary although nothing was mini! Stunning bathroom with freestanding bath and huge shower. Everything we needed or could have wanted. We ate in the restaurant both nights sitting on the terrace overlooking the beautifully maintained gardens. Before dinner we enjoyed complimentary cocktails in the old chapel. Breakfast the following morning was in the same venue with a great menu. Outdoor games were set and there was a heated swimming pool. The staff were very attentive and looked after us well. We had a great 2 days and cannot recommend highly enough.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AnnieLouDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Marlborough, General Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2023

Dear AnnieLouDean

Thanks for the review we enjoyed having you with us for a couple of days

Glad to hear that you loved what we have here and for your recommendation it means a great deal to us all

Hop that the rest of your stay in NZ was wonderful

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2023

One of the nicest boutique hotels we have ever visited. The staff was just the best! Angela the owner was just great! She showed us a pictorial history of the hotel, and went overboard. Minibar was complimentary, farewell gift, great service and breakfasts, and the dinners were wonderful. We have stayed at another hotel in Marlborough and this is the best by far. What a setting!!! Best beds we have had. Definitely a 11 out of 10! We are experienced 5 star travelers and this hotel is one of the best!

Room tip: There are no crowds and this seems like your private estate. Food and wine were great. Away from the hustle and bustle but near all!
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A3827ZSalanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Marlborough, General Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2023

Dear A3827ZSalanr

Wow thank you for the review it is very much appreciated and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed all that we have and do here
Have to agree that the setting is pretty special
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and hope the rest of your trip was just as enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews