We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bill P
Lakeland, Florida

Balancing leisure and luxury perfectly

Review of The Marlborough
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Nov 2022via mobile
Perfectly balanced leisure with refined luxury. The staff was very attentive and almost next time they saw you were calling you by name. You never saw housekeeping but you room was magically serviced when you returned. Both morning and evening turndown.
The property is beautifully landscaped. I believe the house was redone during Covid and it is beautiful all by itself. From the artwork to the wallpapers just beautiful.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Marlborough, General Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this review
Responded 14 Nov 2022
Dear Traveler177640

We throughly enjoyed having you stay with us and glad you enjoyed all that we have and do here at The Marlborough

Very much appreciate your review and will pass on to all the of the team as mean a great deal to us all

Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$180
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.8 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$167
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$224
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.3 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$136
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.0 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$138
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
$165
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.1 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
happy campers
$93
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.6 km from The Marlborough
Free parking
Pool
$370
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
7.4 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $106
  • Priceline
5.8 km from The Marlborough
Free parking
Pool
Executive Air Conditioned King Spa Studio Unit -  Full kitchenette offering microwave, stove top, tea & coffee making facilities, dining table & chairs. Our units are serviced daily and really are your home away from home Free WIFI and 43" Smart TV offering 21 freeview channels and streaming
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Hotels.com
6.4 km from The Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Blenheim
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
152
11
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
152
11
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor fireplace new zealand breakfast and dinner exceptional hospitality hotels around the world gracious service pre dinner drinks rooms are gorgeous heated swimming pool each evening our honeymoon following morning wine country glass of wine great room stayed two nights chapel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2022

From the moment our family checked in, we were welcomed by the warm and friendly staff and taken care of like royalty throughout our 3 day/night visit. The property is breathtaking and the “lodge” is beautifully decorated - with the comfort of what you dream your home to be. The restaurant is as wonderful, with the food being among the best we’ve had in New Zealand! Nick the chef is top notch - both his cooking talent and his personal touch to come out and talk about his creations and make us feel special. The staff were all exceptional- special call out to Miqu, who made each meal fun and most enjoyable. If I could give 10 stars I would … truly one of the best from someone who has been to many great hotels around the world. Hope to be back!!!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jenniferhA1901RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Marlborough, General Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Dear Jenniferh

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write your review which we all truely appreciate.

Hope that the rest of your time in NZ was equally specially and we look forward to being able to welcome you back at some point

Safe travels till then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2022 via mobile

Top stay - friendly and professional staff, every comfort, beautiful building and decor. Highlights were a tour of the 10 acre grounds with Geoff, the Estate Manager, complimentary cocktails and canapés in the Great Room and dining in the property’s Harvest restaurant.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NigelDavies_Tas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Marlborough, General Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2022

Dear NigelDavies_Tas
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and all that we are doing here .

Hope to see you back this way soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2022 via mobile

This location and level of amazing service is a 10 out of 10.
Then we ate the food and it went to 11.

The location and beautiful grounds and service mean that we would happily recommend this to the most discerning of traveler or foodie.

We can’t wait to return.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank steveiswandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Marlborough, General Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear steveiswandering

Glad to hear that you enjoyed where we are and what we are doing here at The Marlborough

Appreciate the recommendation and thank you for taking the time to review us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2022

We stayed at the Malborough Lodge and had a great time. The history of the building, the hostess, the service was impeccable. The food a the Harvest Restaurant was divine. We were pampered and felt like the only guests in the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Marlborough, General Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear John B

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and delighted to hear that you enjoyed all that we are doing here

Hope to see you back in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2022 via mobile

This was our third attempt to stay at The Marlborough- due to Covid challenges we kept having to cancel. We are so pleased we persevered. Our only regret was staying only one night.

This is not a ‘everyday price ‘ hotel and it is certainly not a price we are paying for all of our South Island holiday. But we came away feeling like we had really great value. Each staff member is warm, friendly welcoming and proud of the property. Toby, the head chef is so great at his job and also a really great human being. We left with a small box of his baking to keep us going on our journey which was such a treat.

The room we had was spectacular. Comfortable with a mix of design styles that just work. The bathroom was fabulous. The property has tons of activities such as croquet and boules which sadly we did not have time for.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Marlborough, General Manager at The Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2022

Dear travellingbuzz

Thank you for persevering and glad that you enjoyed all that we have here at The Marlborough.

Now that you have visited hope that we will see you back to enjoy a longer stay and the onsite activities you missed out on

Thank you for taking the time to review us as this means a great deal for our small business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews