We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marlborough Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scenic Hotel Marlborough(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marlborough Vintners Hotel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Marlborough(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tresco Blenheim(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
171 on High Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centre Court Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waterfront Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Park Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Marlborough(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
94
10
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
10
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor fireplaceamazing propertynew zealandcountry homegeneral managerbreakfast and dinnerpre dinnerquailus feel at homemature treesa special placeheated poolworth every centbreakfasts were excellentweek tourgrape vineswine list
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and were enthralled with the hospitality - the team, led by Angela and Martin, is engaging and has great stories about the property and the region. The chef, Sam, is gifted and the food is world-class delicious and fresh...most ingredients from nearby farms. The location is perfect for wine tasting and exploring the Marlborough Sound. What a gem! You’ll enjoy every minute here from the gorgeous soaking tub to the spacious gardens. Thanks Angela and team for a memorable experience!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PalmerMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarlb0roughLodge, Owner at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Michael

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us it was such a pleasure having you both come and stay and experience our unique little piece of New Zealand.

I hope your time at the Sam's bench last night provided you with some new skills for your next dinner party and combine those with the wines you are shipping home it is bound to be a hit!

Safe travels around New Zealand and the rest of your world travels and we look forward to seeing you back with us in the not too distant future

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

This lovely colonial building has been redecorated to perfection with individualized spacious and elegant bedrooms and bathrooms. The grounds offer shaded walks under mature trees by a stream and ponds, include a heated pool and a special stone fireplace which features as an enjoyable before dinner meeting place - all quite magical. The staff are friendly and welcoming and appear just as required. The Chef Sam and his assistants provide an internationally imaginative menu from excellent local produce.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarlb0roughLodge, Owner at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Rosalie

It was lovely to have you come and stay and enjoy the Lodge and its grounds. I think you may have got the last swim in for this summer but who knows!!

I will pass along your comments to Sam and the rest of the team as they strive to make each experience unique and to know that they are doing so is very much appreciated.

We hope to see you back our way soon

Kind Regards

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The Marlborough wine region of NZ is remarkably pretty, offering easy access to the stunning waterways of the nearby marlborough sounds. Set among some of NZ's best vineyards, the Lodge is a well run small hotel, luxurious enough without being over the top, with a very nice restaurant. We spent 4 nights over Easter in a large room upstairs. Excellent toiletries and towels. Most impressed by attentive staff. Plenty of cozy spots by the fireside if the weather is a little chill. But the grounds are the real star, and on a sunny day all you'll need is a comfortable chair in one of the spots next to the stream, a good book and a glass of local wine. Heaven!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best, giving great views over the gardens
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HungryOtter_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarlb0roughLodge, Owner at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear HungryOtter_13


Thank you for your kind review we really appreciate your comments and glad that we made your Easter break memorable. I will pass your review onto the team as they strive to create a special experience for all of our guests and will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in the region. As you have now found out we are easy to get to from Sydney yet on arrival you feel like a world away.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We had a great stay at the lodge.

Service was great. They replied promptly to emails before arriving, helped us set up wine tours and when we were on property were very friendly and helpful with tips and recommendations.

Rooms were very comfortable. The hotel is newly renovated so everything is up to date and new. Beds are comfortable and the shower is very good with lovely shampoos.

Internet is fast.

Food is excellent. Breakfast has a small buffet and some cooked options. It was very nice. Dinner was quite special and lovely. First, canapes and wine are served and were always delicious. The dinner itself is great. Unlike some lodges, you dine generally when you want and can choose off a menu. Food was excellent.

Overall, very nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adamtope23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarlb0roughLodge, Owner at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Adamtope23

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review us and thank you for your kind comments and it was a pleasure having you stay.

Great to hear that you enjoyed all the aspects and providing descriptions which helps other potential guests understand what we offer in this exceptional part of New Zealand

I will pass on your review to the team as they really appreciate the feedback

If you are ever heading back this way please feel free to contact me direct

Warm Regards

Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Although I didn't stay here, I wished I could have. It's an amazingly beautiful property with a ton of history. The décor is gorgeous and modern. Instead of staying, I ate at the restaurant which was some of the BEST food I had during my two week tour of the country. the service, presentation, ambiance, and food were all 5-star. I highly recommend dining to see the property if you decide not to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMarlb0roughLodge, Owner at The Marlborough Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear KellyE

Thank you very much for your kind review our team and offering. They will be delighted with your comments particularly our Chef who prides himself on creating dishes that showcase the great produce that New Zealand has to offer. We appreciate the recommendation and should you be back this way we hope that you will come back to visit

Kind Regards
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews