We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lesley M
Brisbane, Australia

Staff were helpful and friendly

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Jan 2024via mobile
The hotel rooms were large clean and comfortable. Location was ok , within walking distance of some restaurants and. Staff were helpful and friendly . The pool filter was broken , so we couldn’t use it, but overall a comfortable place to stay in Blenheim.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmel Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this review
Responded 8 Jan 2024
Hello Lesley
Thanks for your feedback - we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. My apologies that the pool pump broke and we needed to get a replacement, sorry this inconvenienced you during such a warm time also. So nice to know that our team otherwise helped to make your visit to Marlborough enjoyable.
Best wishes
Carmel Horsley, General Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $139
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $185
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Air Conditioned King Spa Studio Unit -  Full kitchenette offering microwave, stove top, tea & coffee making facilities, dining table & chairs. Our units are serviced daily and really are your home away from home Free WIFI and 43" Smart TV offering 21 freeview channels and streaming
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $208
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $156
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Large comfy bed
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $141
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Free parking
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $171
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $184
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main Bedroom
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $177
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outside of units
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $169
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Scenic Hotel Marlborough
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Blenheim
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
365
261
50
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
365
261
50
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel buffet breakfast seymour square comfortable rooms new zealand plenty of parking staff were friendly and helpful guest laundry good size off street parking central location town centre easy walk fantastic stay comfortable stay one night stay great place to stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2023 via mobile

The rooms and bed were very relaxing and quiet. Had everything you needed and laundry on site. WiFi was great and air con worked well. Ideal location for town and walking around or restaurants or bars. We hired bikes from Bikefit which worked out well for the wine tour. Swimming pool was very good and spa was ideal even though you had to reserve an hour slot but no problem with that as it was very private in the jacuzzi and sauna. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Only reason for good is the Restaurant menu sounded good but failed to deliver as the food was average. The service was good but that was our only disappointment ref the food at this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank the_Geee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmel Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2024

Hi - thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us recently. So sorry to hear there was something not agreeable with regards to any meals you had with us, that is disappointing and I apologise for this. Lovely to read that you otherwise enjoyed your stay: that the facilities suited your needs and that out team helped to make your stay pleasant. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay in NZ's wine capital, and we wish you safe travels. Thanks again for your thoughts.
Warm wishes
Carmel Horsley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2023

This place looks a lot worse than the photos. It’s a true motel in every sense of the word. I think their photos were taken when the place first debuted. I unfortunately struggled to find nicer places to stay. The self-serve laundry facilities (2 washers and 2 dryers) weren’t enough since there was a queue after us. The dryer didn’t dry and would require at least 3+ cycles for one load of clothes to properly dry. Keep in mind each load is $4. So laundry is quite expensive if you factor in the multiple drying cycles….

Parking is tight and if you’re the last in at night you will need to park across the street at the church or street parking.

The front desk staff was great and had a positive attitude, I really liked them, and they were the best part of the stay.

The place was cheap so I suppose for less than $100 USD a night I can’t complain too much for a quick stopover on a road trip.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmel Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2024

Greetings
Thank you for your feedback. My apologies that there seems to be something wrong with one of the clothes dryers: not sure if you alerted our team, either way we will have maintenance look at this. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. While you only rated your stay as 2 out of 5, it is pleasing that our team helped to make your visit enjoyable.
Kind regards
Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2023

The hotel we stayed at in Blenheim was excellent. The staff at every contact point were helpful, knowledgeable and very professional. Our room was comfortable, airy, very clean and well appointed. The food was better than at any hotel we have stayed while in NZ. It was in a perfect position to explore the very attractive town centre and the amazing choice of wineries, (hire bikes, don’t drive). Thanks for a happy visit to a lovely part of New Zealand.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmel Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2023

Hello Charles,
It is so lovely to hear from you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Marlborough so much, and that our team and property helped to enhance your time spent in our favourite part of NZ. Thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback. Wishing you safe and enjoyable travels.
Warm wishes
Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2023

Super comfy bed, room clean and tidy - very quick room service delivery - Great buffet breakfast, talking with locals, they recommend the Savvy restaurant as well! Pool looked invititing but weather not!

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmel Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2023

Hi Linda
So lovely to hear from you, thank you for your amazing feedback. We are so pleased you had a good time: a comfy bed and a yummy brekky are definitely good ways to get set up for a new day. We would love the chance to welcome you back to Marlborough, should your travels bring you here once more.
Warm wishes
Carmel Horsley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023 via mobile

Good location within walking distance of town centre and a short drive away from the vineyards and warbird museum.

Hotel is a similar style to a Novotel or Casa 400 albeit smaller in size. We stayed on the third floor in a superior king room, it was spacious, bed was comfortable and room was well equipped. Only issue was one of the electric window blinds was not working which made things a little tricky. The room was clean and well maintained overall. One other thing to note is that there is an extractor fan on the roof above the rooms this comes on at around 0700 and it’s very noisy at the start and then produces a loud hum in your room until it goes off about 2100.

We ate in the restaurant, the dinner menu was not extensive but the meals we had were very good and the service was excellent, shout out to Sarah and Danah. Unfortunately the breakfast experience wasn’t great we arrived towards the end of breakfast and you were faced with limited buffet options even if there was still 30-45 minutes left, hot food was looking dried out and tired and wasn’t refreshed. It has to be said the staff were more interested in setting lunch service and well before the end of breakfast things are being turned off and food taken away. Best advice is don’t lay-in! This said we would still stay here again.

Room tip: Plenty of parking
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hopon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmel Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2023

Greetings and thank you for reviewing your stay with us.
We are pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay: my apologies we let you down at breakfast time, your comments have been taken on board and I will take some action with our team. When the buffet needs to come in they should have actively offered you food cooked to order and I am sorry this did not happen.
Regarding the electric blind in your room, it sounds like the battery may have gone flat: hopefully you mentioned that to one of the team so we could replace it.
Lovely to read that you enjoyed your time in Marlborough, and I will pas on your compliments to Sarah and Danah.
Warm wishes
Carmel Horsley, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews