We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Highly recommend Highlight!

At the suggestion of a winery near our hotel, we called Highlight hoping to book a tour for the... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Umfalotta
,
Chicago, Illinois
A wonderful day out

A last minute decision to book a private tour of the vineyards of Marlborough. We have twin boys... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
daveBangkok
,
Bangkok
via mobile
Read all 699 reviews
  
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
662
32
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
32
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate factory wine tour full day tour marlborough region great group private tour end of the day new zealand great company great tour another couple would highly recommend this tour anyone wanting group tour great knowledge family run fantastic afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
179 - 184 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We had an excellent afternoon with Dave and Colleen as perfect hosts. We arrived that day on the ferry so Colleen picked us up and took us to the tour Dave was already hosting. Knowing that we had already eaten, whilst the rest of the group were having lunch Dave took us to another winery based on the wines we said we liked. A really well thought out your - thank you!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank gail795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Myself and my partner booked a full day tour for $90pp, which was recommended by the reception desk at our accommodation. We both drink wine, but knew little about NZ varieties and wanted a day free from driving our motor home. So we're both extremely pleased when we were picked up in a small mini bus by Colleen (who runs the business with her husband!). We were the only couple on the tour in the morning and Colleen recommended some wineries but also asked if we were interested in visiting any also, so was very flexible. Firstly we visited Allan Scott winery, a small family run business and the experience was so relaxed (I didn't have to pretend I knew my wine at all!) Colleen really is down to earth and is very knowledgable about the wines and explains that it is just about enjoying them and discovering what you might like (or not) - in my case Allan Scott Reisling was the best of the day! We were joined by another couple and visited a total of 5 wineries in the day, with a good mix of family run, organic and larger companies. It is true that you could visit wineries on your own, but for me, this tour was exceptional. Colleen really showed us a great variety of wineries (we would have probably stuck to Brancott and Villa Maria), as a tour guide she was enthusiastic, passionate and informed us about the history and geography of the area - and it was so relaxed and hassle free as every detail was taken care of and you were well looked after. It was one of the best experiences of NZ trip and I can't wait to get back to UK and spot the wines on the shelf and in menus back home!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Lukemchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Big thanks to Colleen who was our tour guide with highlight wine tours! Super informative, no pressure to buy, had us laughing the whole way. We were lucky enough to get a tour in the off season - Colleen was personal and so hilariously down to earth. Both being young and not-so-experienced wine drinkers she was so accommodating and knowledgeable. Thanks again Colleen!! Excellent price and service, definitely recommend.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Breanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We enjoyed an excellent day with Colleen, who was really friendly and genuine. She took a real interest in the guests getting to know us and tailoring the day around our tastes and experience. We had a brilliant lunch and really enjoyed all of the wineries we visited. There was no pressure to buy wine. We were lucky that there were only 4 of us on the tour. Fantastic day, would definitely do it again.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We had an amazing afternoon travelling around the different vineyards with Colleen for the first time! Got picked up and dropped off to the Picton ferry which made it very easy for us! Both Colleen and Dave are full of knowledge and facts about wine and vineyards and are very friendly people! They made the trip exciting and looked after the young ones like us! Perfect day!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank AnnaC11809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews