We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Find”

Saveur Cafe, Bistro & Patisserie
Ranked #16 of 133 Restaurants in Blenheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Saveur sits on the banks of the Taylor River in Blenheim, right in the heart of the Marlborough Wine region. We are open seven days a week from 7.30am for brunch and dinner. We welcome group dining, with a private mezzanine dining area and a range of set menus for larger groups are available. We have an onsite patisserie, Le Delice which serves a delicious range of cakes and pastries made by our pastry chef, and serves take away coffee for those on the run
Reviewed 21 February 2018

We were passing through Blenheim, a lovely town and decided to try this restaurant. We went for an early supper. The staff were very welcoming, with a smile and efficient. The restaurant is set near the river bank and window tables have good views of the river.

The food is bistro and modern. It is well cooked and flavoursome and fairly priced. This was a nice find. We had a great meal in pleasant surroundings from courteous staff.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank DannyEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 76 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

We had an Eggs Bene & a Bacon & Eggs all very good. Great coffee & patisserie too!

The view is over a river & on a sunny day there is outside seating.
No wifi.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Crystalrose54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Nice view. Sophisticated atmosphere. Food was tasty - once we got our order. Wine list OK but lame for a restaurant in the Marlborough wine region. Unfortunately we experienced seriously BAD service for an upscale restaurant. Even with reservations on a Saturday evening and tons of empty tables inside the restaurant and outside on the deck, we got stuck in a far corner outside. Inexperienced Waitress and/or incompetent cook completely hosed up our order. Perhaps it’s tough to get good local help in the high season in Blenheim. It is OK, but this restaurant would never make it in the USA.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank MEKCincinnati_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaveurCafeBistro, Owner at Saveur Cafe, Bistro & Patisserie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Bonour
W're sorry to read of your experience whilst dining with us at Saveur. It would be unusual of us to sit someone outside if they had not requested it, as our Maitre D's ask whether you would prefer inside or outside, or we ensure guests are aware we only have outside remaining when they make reservations, so we are sorry if you were not given the option. It may have been that at the time you came in, the inside tables were reserved for diners arriving shortly after you, which is often the case on a Saturday night in high season. We often offer the corner tables outside, as they tend to be more sheltered than the pavement-side middle tables, depending on the direction of the wind. If you had mentioned it to our staff at the time we would have loved the opportunity to find a table more suitable for you.

We're sorry you did not enjoy our wine selection. Every varietal we have on the wine list offers at least one wine produced in Marlborough, many offering two or three, so we are a little confused as to what we could have done to offer something more for the Marlborough wine region, but we always welcome constructive feedback on how we could improve for our valued customers.

Sorry to read of the error made with your food. Whilst it is our job to strive for perfection every time, unfortunately we do sometimes make mistakes and we can only apologise for this. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the meals, however.

We hope you enjoyed your time in beautiful Marlborough and in New Zealand
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

I came here with friends after hearing great things and was wowed but the service.. and the pâté!! Seriously, it was so delicious I didn't waste a drop! The staff were friendly and welcoming, we had a lovely view of the river from the terrace and the local wine we were recommended was delicious, as was the pork belly! Would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alioop88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Fantastic evening all round! Started with a very warm greeting at the door and shown to our seat with a beautiful view over the river. Garlic Vienna to start was delicious, and our pork belly for mains was to die for! Staff were friendly and attentive and they made us feel very welcome. Couldn’t fault the evening!

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saveur Cafe, Bistro & Patisserie also viewed

Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
Blenheim, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Saveur Cafe, Bistro & Patisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing