We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
9
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade muffinspauletteplatterkiwiwinehosts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We had 2 fine nights enjoying John and Paulette’s beautiful accommodations in Blenheim. Tips on local eats and activities were spot on and the guest quarters were excellent.
We even squeezed in a round of golf at the nearby course before an afternoon of wine tasting in the region.
Our hosts couldn’t have been more thoughtful, taking time to help with a rental car issue and I even noticed John drying off our car windows in preparation for departure!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tracie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely review of your stay with us. We enjoyed meeting you both and sharing our home with you. We were delighted to read the comments about your stay in the card you left behind Thank you for that - much appreciated!
Enjoy Wanaka and Queenstown and have a safe flight back home when the time comes. It was lovely having you here and hope that your NZ holiday was all you were hoping for. Please give our regards to Sue and Bear next time you see them. Take care and keep well.
With fond memories, Paulette & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

I just can't say enough about our stay here! Best place ever. This is a brand new house with a purpose built B&B. Gorgeous large bedroom and bathroom - beautiful decor, linens, toiletries Also a complete living room/ breakfast area - with all the amenities. Stocked with everything you could possibly need. On top that cookies, cake and treats! Breakfast was continental plus --- all kinds of breads, beautiful fruit, homemade muffins etc. Our hosts Paulette and John were so gracious, helpful and accommodating. Truly the best ever Kiwi hospitality! Also a small sitting area of our room to enjoy the view of the vineyards. Minutes from town and wineries. Loved this very special place! (We had stayed at a very expensive and exclusive resort just a few days earlier -- probably cost 5 times as much -- they could learn from John and Paulette! (Jones - Feb 8/9)

Room Tip: Our favourite stay in NZ - after 26 days!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 166brittaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

We are very humbled by your outstanding review, thank you. Its always nice to read that guests have enjoyed their stay but the way you have described your experience at Stonehaven Homestay B&B makes hosting so worthwhile. It is a two-way thing of course and it is made so much easier when guests like the two of you stay -. friendly and excited about being in the country enjoying new experiences. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts and for writing such lovely comments. We appreciate it very much and look forward to our paths crossing again one day - either here or in Canada. Take care, keep well and look after each other. Kind regards, Paulette & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We stayed at Paulette and John's gorgeous bungalow in January on our trip round NZ. It was the most perfect place. They were so welcoming and generous, and the house was beautiful. The bed was comfortable, the shower was state of the art, the living area was stylish. We had a view that looked over a vineyard and distant mountains. Breakfast was set up by Paulette the night before - there were homemade muffins, croissants, breads, a huge pot of yogurt, jams, Bircher muesli, cereals, fruit. There was so much we were able to take leftovers with us to provide future breakfasts at the motel we stayed in.
On the day we arrived we'd had a long journey including an extremely rough crossing from Wellington and we asked for a Platter that Paulette can provide. What a Platter! It was in fact several platters, of meats, cheeses, pâtés, chutneys and pickles, fruit and salad, bread, shellfish, chicken, nuts and biscuits. And wine. It was delicious and we had enough leftover to eat the following day after our epic wine tour!
Paulette and John, you were perfect hosts, Paulette with your generosity and John with your fascinating tales of hunting and lovely alternative route to Motueka. Thank you so much. If we ever come back we're booking with you first.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneBoleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers. We enjoyed your company very much and it was our pleasure to ensure you were well fed!! We are delighted that you enjoyed the platter and the breakfasts and John is pleased that your trip to Motueka via State Highway 63 was what you were hoping for. Trust the rest of your holiday in NZ went well. Thank you again for taking the time and trouble to review us - it is very much appreciated. Kind regards,Paulette & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

The hosts, John and Paulette are fantastic, they will do anything possible to make your stay a pleasant one. The location is in the middle of the Marlborough valley (wine heaven). The breakfast deserves a better title than 'continental', a feast of home backed delicacies and home grown fruits and bircher. The room and bathroom are 5 star.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank travelbysuitcases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

John and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in Marlborough. Thank you for the lovely comments about the breakfast we serve and that the bedroom and bathroom were up to expectations. It is always nice to hear that guests have had a relaxing time with us and have also enjoyed the other activities that have been experienced in the region. Hope the long flight back home wasn't too arduous and that you are now enjoying the wine you had sent home! All the best for the future. Paulette & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We have enjoyed many B&B/homestays across the world but Stonehaven tops them all for sheer luxury and such wonderful hosts. John and Paulette welcomed us as they might family and showed a real interest in what we were doing, offered us useful tips and hints about the area and shared some of their own fascinating stories with us especially John’s adventures in the New Zealand bush.
Continental breakfasts were an absolute delightful and here's a strong tip; if you don’t fancy going to a local restaurant in the evening or arrive late from the ferry ask Paulette to provide a platter to eat in. It is lovingly prepared and utterly delicious using local seafood, meats and cheeses with Paulette’s own added home treats, oh and there’s also 'in room' homemade cakes and cookies!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chymron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZTraveller327, Owner at Stonehaven Homestay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

By now you will be well and truly settled in back home in the UK. We were delighted to read your very favourable review and to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you also for the recommendation and comments on the platter we serve. Its always great to get feedback and nice to know you enjoyed the homemade bits and pieces included on it. It was a pleasure to have you share our home with us while you visited New Zealand - the perfect guests! Enjoy 2018 - spring is just around the corner for you. Keep well and be safe. With fond memories of your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews