We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jack H
Seattle, Washington
Amazing Lodge and Fishing
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Feb 2020via mobile
What an amazing place!! Our cottage was new, very well equipped, quite large and beautifully decorated. The Nokomia Valley Lodge is located on a 97,000 acre sheep and cattle ranch. It is surrounded by beautiful foothill mountains with a river. The views are stunning in all directions.
The staff and owners are so genuinely pleasant and so accommodating. The meals are homemade and delicious.
We spent 2 days fly fishing for brown trout with a wonderful guide, Graeme Watson who I also highly recommend.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
56.5 km from Nokomai Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
74.8 km from Nokomai Valley Lodge
Free parking
Exterior
57.9 km from Nokomai Valley Lodge
Pool
Restaurant
56.6 km from Nokomai Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
57.2 km from Nokomai Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
57.1 km from Nokomai Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
57.7 km from Nokomai Valley Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in South Island
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

Thanks so much for a wonderful stay!!!
Accommodation, food and service were all outstanding. A great spot for a 25th Wedding Anniversary.
Plenty to do: relaxing, walking, fishing, watching farm activities, enjoying the history of the area.
Close to Queenstown and Invercargill, so an easy 1-1.5hr drive.
Fairly pricey, but you won’t regret it.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobnShelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2019 via mobile

Wonderful stay at Nokomai station for four nights, under the charm of the rolling mountain views and big skies, on a working sheep farm. If was a grand end for our month's trip to NZ. Ann's hospitality and fine cooking, as well as her interesting farm-tour gave us a good idea of kiwi big sheep-farm life. Louise's charm and her enthousiasm in wine-tasting gave the hosted dinners a special touch, encouraging lively and interesting discussions with the visiting US fly-fishermen. We also did a day-trip to Milford sound, thru Te Anau, and local walks.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sherpa637873
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2019 via mobile

Nakomi Station is spectacular. Beautiful location. The grounds and cottages are well kept. The meals were truly gourmet and servings generous. Ann and Louise and Wendy were wonderful hosts. The opportunity to share meals with the other guests was a bonus. Table discussion with gentlemen from Australia and US added to our experience. The fishing was fabulous and our guides, Graeme and Quentin, were knowledgeable and worked hard to get us into good fish. 5 stars is not enough!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

This is a working station that now has a few guest cottages. The cottage we had was spacious, simply but well furnished. Dinner and breakfast fast served with all the guests at one table. The food was beautifully prepared and more than generous.
The other guests went fishing with a guide and were enthusiastic, but we chose to walk and it was beautiful. In the afternoon we had a farm tour which I highly recommend- we learned so much.
This is a gracious and charming place - stay at least 2 nights!!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2018

My wife and I spent the first 4 days of our 3 week trip to the South Island at Nokamai in early January. This was our first trip to New Zealand, and we could not have picked a better place for our introduction to that wonderful country and it's people. We fished for 2 days with local legend Len Prentiss, who came out of semi retirement to guide us.What a wonderful gentleman! We learned so much about local history, both fishing and otherwise from Len.Although sections of the Mataura were blown out due to rain he found clear water and we caught several nice browns.The Mataura is very impressive for high numbers of fish and relatively easy wading. The fish are challenging,but nice size.Would love to be there during the may fly hatch.Maybe next time!
The cottages were very comfortable and the food and wine plentiful and good. We especially enjoyed watching the dogs work the sheep, and Ann's tour of the station was wonderful.
She and Louise made us feel right at home. We would go back in a heartbeat and would urge anyone looking for an authentic piece of New Zealand, replete with living history, wonderful people and excellent fly fishing to consider Nokomai Station!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank cortf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews