We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
28
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brown trout fishing queenstown sheep graeme meals accommodation history lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2019 via mobile

Wonderful stay at Nokomai station for four nights, under the charm of the rolling mountain views and big skies, on a working sheep farm. If was a grand end for our month's trip to NZ. Ann's hospitality and fine cooking, as well as her interesting farm-tour gave us a good idea of kiwi big sheep-farm life. Louise's charm and her enthousiasm in wine-tasting gave the hosted dinners a special touch, encouraging lively and interesting discussions with the visiting US fly-fishermen. We also did a day-trip to Milford sound, thru Te Anau, and local walks.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sherpa637873
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2019 via mobile

Nakomi Station is spectacular. Beautiful location. The grounds and cottages are well kept. The meals were truly gourmet and servings generous. Ann and Louise and Wendy were wonderful hosts. The opportunity to share meals with the other guests was a bonus. Table discussion with gentlemen from Australia and US added to our experience. The fishing was fabulous and our guides, Graeme and Quentin, were knowledgeable and worked hard to get us into good fish. 5 stars is not enough!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

This is a working station that now has a few guest cottages. The cottage we had was spacious, simply but well furnished. Dinner and breakfast fast served with all the guests at one table. The food was beautifully prepared and more than generous.
The other guests went fishing with a guide and were enthusiastic, but we chose to walk and it was beautiful. In the afternoon we had a farm tour which I highly recommend- we learned so much.
This is a gracious and charming place - stay at least 2 nights!!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Livingthedream999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 February 2018

My wife and I spent the first 4 days of our 3 week trip to the South Island at Nokamai in early January. This was our first trip to New Zealand, and we could not have picked a better place for our introduction to that wonderful country and it's people. We fished for 2 days with local legend Len Prentiss, who came out of semi retirement to guide us.What a wonderful gentleman! We learned so much about local history, both fishing and otherwise from Len.Although sections of the Mataura were blown out due to rain he found clear water and we caught several nice browns.The Mataura is very impressive for high numbers of fish and relatively easy wading. The fish are challenging,but nice size.Would love to be there during the may fly hatch.Maybe next time!
The cottages were very comfortable and the food and wine plentiful and good. We especially enjoyed watching the dogs work the sheep, and Ann's tour of the station was wonderful.
She and Louise made us feel right at home. We would go back in a heartbeat and would urge anyone looking for an authentic piece of New Zealand, replete with living history, wonderful people and excellent fly fishing to consider Nokomai Station!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank cortf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

This was a great place to spend a few relaxing days. Ann and her staff were great. We also went fly fishing and enjoyed it. The place is low key and homey. Breakfast and dinner are good and there is plenty.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews