We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, delicious, insightful, and Gracious host”

Zest Food Tours of New Zealand
Ranked #1 of 14 Food & Drink in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the sights and tastes of Wellington on one of our hosted walking gourmet food tours. Here at Zest we believe the best way to experience Wellington and its culture is by strolling and sampling some of the many tasting pleasures on offer. Your friendly, local Zest guide will stroll with you through our "foodie" capital city, sampling Wellington's famous locally roasted coffee and other gastronomic delights. Meet some of our city's amazing and passionate producers and discover new flavours. We will also share the history, art and culture of our beautifully crafted and compact harbour city. Zest Food Tours also offers a wine experience in Martinborough, a premium boutique pinot noir wine region.
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We were provided a delightful tour and lunch with Helena around unique points of culinary enlightens.

Starting with cult coffee, to local Incredible Chocolate, touring, local street Art, the ultimate local grocery store, tribal art for sale, and a delectable lunch at a new Restaurant, called Sterling. We walked the town, heard history of buildings, architecture, and found unique foods.

Expensive (when lunch and wines included), but well worth investing both the cash and time into Wellintons culinary scene if you are a "foodie".

Delightful Helena hosted a fast paced tour with constant detail and delight in her food presentations. KUDOs!!!

Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestFoodTours, Owner at Zest Food Tours of New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Dear Michael
thank you for your excellent review of our Walking Gourmet Tour with our wonderful guide Helena. I will pass on your compliments to her and share it with all our guides. I know everyone here at Zest will be absolutely thrilled! We simply love sharing with our guests what makes our vibrant, little capital city such a special treat for all the senses.
Wishing you a wonderful and delicious time on your holiday.
Best regards
Stephanie C - Zest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

Fab the tour guide was fabulous..... We got to see all sorts of locally made goods and foods from in and around the Wellington area. From the coffee roasters, to the gelateria, to the chocolate factory everything was delicious and worth the cost. I wish we could get Fixx and Fogg peanut butter here in Canada as it is phenomenal.

Thank bgmwallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestFoodTours, Owner at Zest Food Tours of New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2017

Thank you for your positive review of our Capital Tastes Tour, which I will share with our guides who'll be delighted. We love showing our guests what makes our vibrant, little capital such a wonderful place to visit and help uncover our city's delicious, culinary treats and treasures. I will pass on your compliments to Roman, the founder of Fix&Fogg peanut butter. I know that he and his team will be thrilled.
Wishing you continued delicious & happy times and a safe trip home.
Best regards
Stephanie C - Zest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

If you are the kind of person always thinking about what and where your next meal will be, and love geeking out over artisanal chocolate or coffee this tour is for you.
Our amazing guide Heather took us (and two other guests) on the most amazing tour of Wellington as seen through food.
You will flavor some of the best gelato, coffee and chocolate the city has to offer, hear interesting stories and geek out over good food with fellow foodies.
We are now ready to return to Wellington with the sole purpose of eating.
I strongly recommend this to anyone who loves good food and ingredients.

Thank WinnieLyngkaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestFoodTours, Owner at Zest Food Tours of New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Winnie
thanks for your excellent review of your Walking Gourmet Tour with our amazing guide Heather. She's such a star! I will share your comments with her and I know she'll be so thrilled. We love showcasing Wellington's many interesting facets to our guests, whilst at the same time offering some very delicious morsels and artisanal treats for the taste buds - an entertaining and fun way to get to know our vibrant, little capital city.
Wishing you a wonderful time on your holiday.
Best regards
Steph C - Zest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

What a fantastic food tour from beginning to end.
Our guide Heather was absolutely lovely and very knowledgeable about the local area.
We were able to sample lots of local produce,and learn about they came about.
The morning started with coffee,then onto gelato,and opportunities to sample cheeses,salami and other tasty goods at a local supermarket.
Such a great tour,which you should definetly take part in when visiting wellington.
Thanks again for a great morning Heather.

1  Thank Sydneykat29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestFoodTours, Owner at Zest Food Tours of New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Sydneykat29
thank you for your wonderful review of your Capital Tastes Tour experience. I have shared your comments with our lovely guide Heather and she was delighted to read your comments and sends her best regards to you. Here at Zest, we absolutely love sharing with our guests what makes our vibrant, little capital so very special, whilst sampling some of the many delicious, culinary delights on offer.
We hope you'll enjoy the rest of your holiday and wish you a safe trip home.
Best regards
Stephanie C - Zest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We did the Gourmet walking tour with our guide, Wilma, and a small group. We visited a coffee roastery, a chocolate factory, a gelateria and a great gourmet food market and a quirky little peanut butter window!

We had ample time in each place, tastings were thoughtfully laid out at every place and Wilma gave us a great walking tour of the city, and loads of recommendations as we passed from place to place. At the tastings, she let the proprietor do the talking so you really got a feel for the enthusiasm of each of the producers/vndors.

Our tour ended with a beautiful 3 course lunch. Our small group enjoyed a great meal and conversation together, and Wilma was great company. Recommended to cover a lot of the huge variety of good food Wellington has to offer.

Thank UKinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestFoodTours, Owner at Zest Food Tours of New Zealand, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear UKinNYC
thank you very much for taking the time to write such a brilliant review of your "Walking Gourmet Tour" experience with our wonderful guide Wilma. I have shared your comments with her and she was absolutely thrilled - she's such a gorgeous guide. All of us here at Zest so enjoy hosting fellow food lovers and delight in showcasing what our amazing little capital has to offer. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions and wish you a continued wonderful holiday.
Best regards
Stephanie C - Zest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zest Food Tours of New Zealand also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Zest Food Tours of New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing