We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well put together - really enjoyed this day”

Zest Food Tours of New Zealand
Ranked #1 of 13 Food & Drink in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the sights and tastes of Wellington on one of our hosted walking gourmet food tours. Here at Zest we believe the best way to experience Wellington and its culture is by strolling and sampling some of the many tasting pleasures on offer. Your friendly, local Zest guide will stroll with you through our "foodie" capital city, sampling Wellington's famous locally roasted coffee and other gastronomic delights. Meet some of our city's amazing and passionate producers and discover new flavours. We will also share the history, art and culture of our beautifully crafted and compact harbour city. Zest Food Tours also offers a wine experience in Martinborough, a premium boutique pinot noir wine region.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very well put together - really enjoyed this day”
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We did the Gourmet walking tour with our guide, Wilma, and a small group. We visited a coffee roastery, a chocolate factory, a gelateria and a great gourmet food market and a quirky little peanut butter window!

We had ample time in each place, tastings were thoughtfully laid out at every place and Wilma gave us a great walking tour of the city, and loads of recommendations as we passed from place to place. At the tastings, she let the proprietor do the talking so you really got a feel for the enthusiasm of each of the producers/vndors.

Our tour ended with a beautiful 3 course lunch. Our small group enjoyed a great meal and conversation together, and Wilma was great company. Recommended to cover a lot of the huge variety of good food Wellington has to offer.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank UKinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestFoodTours, Owner at Zest Food Tours of New Zealand, responded to this review, 13 December 2016
Dear UKinNYC
thank you very much for taking the time to write such a brilliant review of your "Walking Gourmet Tour" experience with our wonderful guide Wilma. I have shared your comments with her and she was absolutely thrilled - she's such a gorgeous guide. All of us here at Zest so enjoy hosting fellow food lovers and delight in showcasing what our amazing little capital has to offer. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your impressions and wish you a continued wonderful holiday.
Best regards
Stephanie C - Zest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    8
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Food tour in the coolest little capital”
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Walking food tour of Wellington - Despite having lived here for over a year I was still pleasantly surprised by how much I learned on this tour. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, and the tour itself covered plenty of interesting places and delicious foods. It was great to get to know some of the local businesses which are loved by Wellingtonians.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank ncann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestFoodTours, Owner at Zest Food Tours of New Zealand, responded to this review, 13 December 2016
Dear Nicola
thank you so very much for writing such an excellent review of your tour experience with us. I have shared your wonderful comments with Fabs (your guide on the day) and our other guides. We were all so thrilled to learn, that although having lived in Wellington for over a year, you really enjoyed your tour with us and that you were especially delighted to meet the people behind some of the delicious food being produced in our vibrant city.
Many thanks from all of us here at Zest.
Best regards
Stephanie C - Zest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Capital food tour”
Reviewed 24 November 2016

We spent a fabulous morning today with the lovely Fabs who was enthusiastic and knowledgable. We visited coffee roasters, a Gelato maker, chocolate makers and a cheese specialist . Everywhere we went we were given wonderful things to taste and gained a real insight into how these foods are produced. I can't recommend this food tour highly enough. Really, really fun.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank xavier N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestFoodTours, Owner at Zest Food Tours of New Zealand, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
Dear Xavier
thank you very much such a wonderful review of your Capital Tastes tour experience with our lovely guide Fabs - she's such a star. I've shared your comments with her and our other guides and everyone was thrilled to bits. Thank you again for taking the time for write such an excellent review, we really appreciate it. :)
Wishing you a wonderful time in New Zealand and a safe trip home.
Best regards
Stephanie C - Zest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
“Great food, better people!”
Reviewed 17 November 2016

The most enjoyable morning in Wellington and possibly my whole trip through the north island. The guide was Heather and she was as pleasant as you could ask for. Learning about the history of the city combined with many of the new exciting things happening in Wellington was a great combination. My wife and I were fortunate enough to be the only people partaking in that particular tour so it was made much more personal and that much better.

The food was all very good and fresh.The quality was top notch and you won't be going hungry either. A great deal of effort is put into explaining where all the ingredients come from and thats important to me. The tour ran through the morning hours and led into a wonderful lunch. If you have a sweet tooth this is without a doubt your tour. Most of the food samples catered to the sweet side although the savoury dishes arent forgotten either.

All in all would highly recommend to anyone visiting the city.

Thank you Heather.

A&B

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank bcheyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestFoodTours, Owner at Zest Food Tours of New Zealand, responded to this review, 22 November 2016
Dear Brett & Angela
thank you for your positive review of your Walking Gourmet Tour experience in October. I have shared your comments with our lovely guide Heather and she was delighted to hear from you and sends her best regards to both of you. Here at Zest, we love sharing with our guests what makes our little capital so very special, whilst sampling some of the delicious culinary delights on offer.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and had a safe trip home.
Best regards
Stephanie C - Zest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional activity”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Today we have just finished a Zest Gourmet Food Tour of Wellington, NZ, in the company of our guide Fiona.

Fiona made our day exceptional. This tour is not inexpensive, however in my opinion it was worth every penny. Fiona was knowledgeable about the city, the food, the various areas we visited, the culture and the history.

The advertised places we went to visit from
coffee roasters (bean to cup),
to Gelato makers (raw ingredients to finished product),
to chocolate makers (bean to bar),
to peanut butter makers,
to cheese markets
finishing up at a superb restaurant for a 3 x course meal with wines to accompany
was only a part of the event.

Fiona made the whole experience special with her knowledge and experience and passion for the city and what it has to offer.

Every other Foodie Tour company should take this trip to see how it should be done. I cannot recommend this Tour/activity highly enough.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZestFoodTours, Owner at Zest Food Tours of New Zealand, responded to this review, 14 November 2016
Dear David
thank you very much for your amazing review of your Walking Gourmet Tour experience with our lovely guide Fiona. I have shared your comments with her and she was absolutely delighted and thrilled - she's such a star. All of us here at Zest so enjoy hosting fellow food lovers and sharing with them what this amazing little capital city has to offer. We really appreciate you taking the time to write down your thoughts and we wish you and your wife a continued wonderful trip.
Best regards - Stephanie C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zest Food Tours of New Zealand also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Zest Food Tours of New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing