We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and service”
Review of Apache

Apache
Ranked #18 of 923 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 June 2023 via mobile

Absolutely amazing food, 10/10 service - attentive and quick but not pushy or intrusive. Lovely atmosphere, we only left an hour ago and have already recommended it to some friends!
Particularly recommend the dumplings, and the puddings.

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank NZJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2023 via mobile

Went there for a preshow dinner. The decor is tasteful with some old antiques. We ordered the imperial fried pork rolls for starters, the floating market and duck curry as mains, and the forbidden black rice pudding as dessert. As drinks, a seasonal cocktail and the lychee cosmopolitan. The starter was nicely seasoned, the pickles on the side removes the greasiness. The floating market (fish & pawn) and the duck were both good but personally I liked the flavour in the duck better. The black rice pudding was average. Service was good despite how busy they were.
Overall: A

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank Fo0DJunKie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2023

There were six of us and one is Vietnamese (she was well familiar with and enamoured of this place). Apache is so popular even booking well ahead only secured us early seating and "out by 7.30pm" deal. The staff were well onto this and we got our orders on the night in impressively good time.

I only sampled my wife's food and, of course, my own. Both were memorable. I went for the rightly famous Poulet au Caramel and accompanied it with pork and prawn dumplings. The chicken dish was simply superb. All of it was a generous portion of expertly cooked meat and little else. It had a soft but solid consistency, warmth and smooth spiciness. It looked grain-fed and the caramel sauce coated the dish like the master's varnish on a da Vinci painting. All the many garnishes were lovely ranging from beans, mushrooms Thai ginger with lime leaves. The dumplings gave up a rich flavour sitting in a tasty but not overwhelming sauce.
My wife's salmon parcels were excellence in another direction. I could have wolfed them all.
Filling, satisfying but subtle. A combination only infrequently encountered. We will surely be back before winter comes.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2023

After some confusion re a lost reservation the folk at Apache bent over backwards to make time and space for us on a very busy night. The awesome service continued throughout our meal, and the food was fantastic. Will definitely visit again! So many more items on the menu to try. Thanks for making our special celebration so enjoyable Apache team!

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2023

I'm a Wellingtonian living away and have been coming to Apache whenever I am back for as long as I remember. The best of ingedients, superb north vietnamese flavours, genuinely warm service and a casual yet quirky elegant atmosphere that always feels right.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank globalcurator
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Apache also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Apache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.