We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Café”
Review of Apache

Apache
Ranked #18 of 923 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 January 2021

We have now been to Apache several times, and have yet to have a bad experience.

We went on Saturday and were lucky to get the last two seats for that sitting.

The Staff are so friendly and helpful and the food is wonderful. Meals are not too large.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RachaelB306
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2021 via mobile

We went two nights in succession to this excellent little restaurant. Service is tops as is the food.
Bang Bang chicken, a spicy beef salad( with the beef being just cooked and incredibly tender) , aubergine dish with mint, tomatoes and spices, fresh barely cooked beans. We couldn’t have asked for better. Water refilled without asking, good wine list.
Just wish we lived in Welly.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank elsthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

Sooooo good!! It’s been a while since my last visit and the menu did seem a little smaller but OMG the food is outstanding so don’t be put off by that. Our party of three shared 3 small and 3 large dishes and that was heaps! The starters were the fresh spring rolls, popcorn chicken and a chicken bao and pork belly bao. All so amazingly fresh, full of flavour and all round delicious. Don’t miss the bao, the chicken one is to die for. The mains we shared were the bang bang chicken, ox cheek curry and crying tiger. Again, all amazing and highly recommended any of them. My personal favourite was the bang bang chicken, an explosion in the mouth. Staff are wonderful, glasses stayed charged all evening and I doubt they could have done more to make our night a success. Congrats on a simply stunning restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank NZMidds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 December 2020 via mobile

Don’t know why the menu has to change, most of my favorite dishes which I would normally order are no longer on the menu. The deep fried prawns coated with young green rice were the best!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank TimT2878
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2020 via mobile

I think it is fair to say that this restaurant has a good reputation based on the 5 star reviews it has.
Having said that my wife and I visited the restaurant on a busy Saturday night and were fortunate to secure a booking for 6 pm due to a cancellation. We were informed when we were seated that the table had to be vacated by 7.15.
We ordered starters of the pop corn chicken which was definitely worth the price for quantity and flavour. We also ordered the Brisket Bao-bun which was equally flavoursome and did not disappoint.
Next course we ordered “Sea meets land “ pork belly and Salmon. This was a disappointment as the 2 main ingredients don’t really marry to deliver much inspiration and the Salmon was under seasoned.
We also ordered the Ox Cheeks curry. I cannot fault the way the cheeks were cooked and the quality of the meat. But the whole dish was pretty under seasoned and lacking any real authentic depth of Asian aromatic flavour.
After we finished eating at about 7.05 we were offered no desert choices or coffee and felt like we had to leave because we were approaching the 7.15 vacate the table dead line.
On the whole the restaurant did not live up to its reviews for us. And we were left slightly underwhelmed and disappointed which is a pity.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank Brooksie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Apache also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Apache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.