We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless intimate dining”
Review of Jano Bistro

Jano Bistro
Ranked #4 of 922 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: French
Description: Jano Bistro is a seasonally-inspired restaurant, showcasing the best of local New Zealand produce and progressive dining. Located in cute, historical cottage, diners are encouraged to sit back and relax, and indulge their culinary palate.
Restaurant details
Description: Jano Bistro is a seasonally-inspired restaurant, showcasing the best of local New Zealand produce and progressive dining. Located in cute, historical cottage, diners are encouraged to sit back and relax, and indulge their culinary palate.
Reviewed 15 January 2023

Set in a Victorian cottage this small restaurant with a really small kitchen does a brilliant job. The 6 course tasting menu at NZ $115 was exceptional value, the amuse bouche were varied, complex and delightful, the snapper with green mandarin (including mandarin oil) was a revelation, the Canterbury lamb with quince, potato and mustard greens (BBQ beetroot substituted for a vegetarian) was thoughtful and well balanced. The feijoa dessert spoke of it's kiwi origins and the petit four were perfection. The signature wines were also really good, we had a Vincent Careme Vouvray and the Chateauneuf du Pape, both were well priced and amazing.

Service from our American wait person was responsive and the wine advice from the French owner was much appreciated.It was hard to know how they can do this for the money, we loved it.

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2023 via mobile

We had the degustation menu here. It was an excellent showcase of NZ produce and French classic cooking techniques but with finesse you’d expect from a modern bistrot dégustation menu. At 120 NZD a head (+60 for the full flight) it was good value too. The front of house and maître d’ (same person) was bright, friendly, and knowledgeable. The food was served and explained by the chefs (who are also the owners). The whole experience was excellent, intimate, non-fussy, and sophisticated all at the same time.

Date of visit: January 2023
3  Thank g40max
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2022 via mobile

This wowed on so many levels, unbelievable service, food and ambience. Loved that the chefs introduced you to each dish.

Date of visit: December 2022
1  Thank Lucinda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 November 2022 via mobile

We went here last night with my husband and in laws to celebrate his birthday. The meal was exceptional and genuinely the best meal I’ve ever had.

Every dish was a revelation and discovery. From the very first dish which blew our minds with the experience of flavours and temperatures changing from
I’ve cold to warm in one mouth full.

Not a cheap experience by anyones standard but was absolutely worth it and if you have a reason to celebrate I can’t think of a better place to do it.

Date of visit: November 2022
Thank natashaa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 October 2022 via mobile

I had a really weird online booking experience as a solo diner (I was on business solo) so I didn't manage to actually book so cannot rate the food.

However if I entered online as a single diner (+1) then there were no tables available. So I was curious so tried agan with +2 for the same date & time (couples) and could book a table online.

Ended up going to Great India who were very happy to accomadate single business diners.

Date of visit: October 2022
3  Thank The S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Jano Bistro also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Jano Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.