We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great”

Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant
Reserve a table
Ranked #18 of 920 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $85
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Shed 5 occupies one of the oldest wharf stores in Lambton Harbour. A water’s edge position and in-house fishmonger contribute to its standing as Wellington’s premier seafood restaurant.
Reviewed 21 February 2024 via mobile

Very nice food. Everything was really good. We had 3 different main courses and they were all really good.
Service was superb. We had a french girl helping us and she was so nice and alert.
Great interior made the total experience perfect.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank CatrinS423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

Always one of the top Wellington restaurants and prized for the quality of its fish dishes. The atmosphere is stylish and spacious (important in these days of Covid). The toilets have what must be the best restaurant sound system in Wellington.
We had all fish dishes, with the Groper Panzanella salad dish the most popular, deservedly. The pulverised aubergine was an excellent base to the bread, tomato and mozzarella. The whitebait starter was traditionally served, crumbed and fried on bread and was delicious, with a subtle dressing.
The fish risotto was well received, as was the Shed 5 fish and chips (Gurnard)..
We had a Sicilian Rosé and a Craggy Range Sauvignon Blanc, both well suited to the dishes before us and recommended by the waiter, who allowed a comparison tasting of the SB.

Deserts were varied as were the cheese selections (local and European, raw and pasteurised , sheep and cow). No complaints, just compliments.
The reputation of this Waterfront Icon is deserved.
It’s a while since I last visited the restaurant, have often used their “CrabShack” neighbour. They share a kitchen and staff, so that’s also high quality.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

We all had the market fish. The tuna was perfectly cooked-seared on one side and just lightly pink in the middle. I don’t like eggplant but the smoked eggplant was good. We also had the calamari appetizer—nicely done. For the second appetizer we had the burata which was creamy and wonderful. Highly recommend. The atmosphere is relaxed and not hurried. Just right for catching up with a friend not seen in 40+ years. Unfortunately, we were too full for dessert.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Head Chef, General Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Hi Sue,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this lovely 5 star review.
Our chefs work extremely hard and its always amazing to hear such positive feedback.

Hopefully we get to have you dine with us again soon!

Kind regards,

The Shed 5 team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

Not at all impressed with the snotty hostess. Quite unfriendly and unapologetic when she couldn’t find our reservation. Waiters very good but the food was an overpriced disappointment. $40 risotto with three shrimp and a few small pieces of fish. A decided disappointment.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank aunt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2024

Great setting, excellent service and outstanding food. My wife and I shared calamari and salmon to start with followed by a seafood risotto and tuna. Everything was outstanding. Highly recommend if you're looking for a great meal in Wellington.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnpM4035IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.