We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner”

Rock Yard Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 920 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner
Description: XIN CHÀO! Our menu presents modern takes on classic Vietnamese dishes from south to north and captures the honest flavours that are found in the streets and alleyways of Vietnam. We encourage you to share the dishes, enjoying the cuisine just as it is presented in Vietnam. Above all, don’t forget to pair your dish from our fantastic wine list, craft beers and cocktails. Let’s eat and drink, never leave table hungry. Một, Hai, Ba, Dôôô!… One, two, three, cheers!
Reviewed 23 April 2021 via mobile

Went for a birthday dinner and had a great meal. We were sat upstairs at a table for two but with a view out to the street. Not loud but lots of doof doof music from the bars nearby. Didn’t put us off at all though. Food and service were excellent. Meals were huge and well priced so we definitely didn’t leave hungry. Definitely recommend. Duck curry and tamarind noodles were outstanding

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank elliotth154
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2021

Service was pretty poor as I did not get our drinks until after the mains had arrived. Beef Noodle Soup taste like dishwater. Charged 2% extra for Credit Cards. Overated. Would not go back.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mike99NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 April 2021 via mobile

Sadly did not live up to the reviews I had read.

Entrees - dumplings were like eating a thick pattie rather than a light mix of the ingredient you’d expect for a dumpling inner. Pork during rolls were nice but very oily.

Mains - Clay pot braised pork was odd. Pork was dry left floating in a liquid the texture of soy sauce. The noodle dishes were very expensive for what was received and what was received lacked flavour requiring my to add my own sauce.

Will not return as food was below par made worse by how much you paid for it.

Date of visit: April 2021
4  Thank tsaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2021

Went to meet friends to celebrate my 12 year olds birthday. It was a great atmosphere, we were given wonderful service and the food was just delicious. Yum!

Date of visit: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank otuatoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rock Yard, Owner at Rock Yard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2021

Dear otuatoko,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and support!! 🥰🥰

We look forward to seeing you, your family and friends again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rockyard Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2021 via mobile

Great food and fast service with a smile! Very happy with my choice...
I had a recommendation for chicken with lemon grass and ordered it hot but not super hot and it was exactly right...

Thanks

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank Nomad63156386276
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rock Yard, Owner at Rock Yard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2021

Dear Nomad,

Thank you so much for your kind review and support!! 🥰🥰

We look forward to seeing you, your family and friends again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rockyard Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rock Yard Restaurant also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Rock Yard Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.