We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary; very ordinary”
Review of Basque

Basque
Ranked #196 of 1,081 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Basque is based on the eating and drinking style of Northern Spain with its streets of bustling tapas bars. We offer an array of non-veg, vegetarian, gluten free and some vegan on request mouthwatering tapas and homemade pizzas, which are designed to complement the range of 12 craft tap beers and ciders, (and another five taps on the rooftop bar), imported Spanish and local wines and our extensive sangria menu. Grab a carafe of sangria, plonk on the rooftop, and watch Courtenay Place pass by beneath you.
Reviewed 5 November 2018

This purports to be a Spanish tapas bar, but frankly it doesn’t achieve it. It is a bar with some Spanish touches. It sells sherry, although my server had no knowledge on the subject. I tried some fish and potato croquets. On the website it says these are served with a Romanesco sauce; nothing unusual about that. On the menu in the bar it says with a red pepper sauce. Were they the same thing I asked. No one knew. The real problem was the croquets were brown inside; quite an achievement and presumably the result of some additional pepper being added. They weren’t very good and the red sauce - whatever it was – was bland. The décor here is humble and the furniture looks like it has been collected from school jumble sales. There is an outdoor deck upstairs, but it was raining the night I was there, and no one was outside. Might be pleasant in summer, but the whole place seemed run down and the staff were amateurish. Not recommenced.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnSB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2018

Went here for the first time. It gets busy, so get there early. We ordered tapas and shared, it was fun. The atmosphere, service and fun was excellent.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maggieb690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

A gf invited us for lunch and it was the first time for all us. One in the group had beef cheek stew and the others shared a platter of meats to share as well as paella. All the dishes were delicious. The waitress was helpful with our order and came up with suggestions and quantity for the group. My husband had a nice light beer and it was very unusual but very nice. Would go back again and definitely recommend.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank C2MeiD613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Such cool funky decor, so nice and warm, heaters and blankets are provided too. But the best part is, all the sangria! We worked our way through a few of the different flavours, before we decided to tuck in to some tapas. They were good! Lots of vege and vegan options too which I was really impressed with. Will definitely keep coming back

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maddiemaddie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Great food in a cool and intimate venue. We hit the Wellington on a Plate menu - my husband had the duck and cheesecake combo - and the other three of us had the Burger Wellington entry.

My husband smashed the duck, loving the duck fat potatoes, the burgers were full of balanced flavours with a fat, juicy, perfectly cooked patty. The patatas bravas were delicious, with just the right amount of sauces, and the best my friend has had after eating them a number of times recently across Spain.

The sangria was delicious; we tried four different carafes throughout the evening and my favourite was the peach. After eating we moved upstairs to the rooftop bar and the heaters and blankets were welcomed on a crisp (and, thankfully, calm) evening whilst finishing our sangria - and ordering more!

The only downsides was the location of our table, which seemed to be an afterthought, and our server, who was a bit unknowledgable about the menu and a bit persistent, but she might have been new. All in all we'd highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BryanLeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basque also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Basque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing