We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Rooftop Bar in Wellington!”
Review of Basque

Basque
Ranked #196 of 1,081 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Basque is based on the eating and drinking style of Northern Spain with its streets of bustling tapas bars. We offer an array of non-veg, vegetarian, gluten free and some vegan on request mouthwatering tapas and homemade pizzas, which are designed to complement the range of 12 craft tap beers and ciders, (and another five taps on the rooftop bar), imported Spanish and local wines and our extensive sangria menu. Grab a carafe of sangria, plonk on the rooftop, and watch Courtenay Place pass by beneath you.
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Such cool funky decor, so nice and warm, heaters and blankets are provided too. But the best part is, all the sangria! We worked our way through a few of the different flavours, before we decided to tuck in to some tapas. They were good! Lots of vege and vegan options too which I was really impressed with. Will definitely keep coming back

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maddiemaddie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Great food in a cool and intimate venue. We hit the Wellington on a Plate menu - my husband had the duck and cheesecake combo - and the other three of us had the Burger Wellington entry.

My husband smashed the duck, loving the duck fat potatoes, the burgers were full of balanced flavours with a fat, juicy, perfectly cooked patty. The patatas bravas were delicious, with just the right amount of sauces, and the best my friend has had after eating them a number of times recently across Spain.

The sangria was delicious; we tried four different carafes throughout the evening and my favourite was the peach. After eating we moved upstairs to the rooftop bar and the heaters and blankets were welcomed on a crisp (and, thankfully, calm) evening whilst finishing our sangria - and ordering more!

The only downsides was the location of our table, which seemed to be an afterthought, and our server, who was a bit unknowledgable about the menu and a bit persistent, but she might have been new. All in all we'd highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BryanLeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We had a brilliant evening here and were really impressed with the food. The burger was incredible and the festival dish (duck) was absolutely delicious. The bar has a really nice vibe and staff were great, they were also very accommodating of a number of food allergies. Thanks for a great evening.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank HeatherS1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Went to try their burger entry for Wellington on a Plate - we were not disappointed. The burger with the rye bun is delicious! Service is friendly and did not wait too long for the food to arrive.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Thezsrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We just popped in for a few drinks and the bar was very nice with a good atmosphere.
The food looked very nice but we had already eaten.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Steveruthcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basque also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Basque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing