We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow, what a wonderful place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Botanica Homestay

The lounge/conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge/conservatory
The lounge/conservatory The second bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The lounge/conservatory
The lounge/conservatory
The second bedroom
The hallway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wellington, Greater Wellington, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Uli J
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, what a wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This gem of a place is located in the stunning hills of Wellington, in the suburb of Miramar. Upon our arrival we found a gorgeous home of which the entire lower floor was ours to enjoy. In the kitchenette we found freshly-baked chocoloate chip biscuits and a Nespresso machine for coffee as well as other goodies for tea, etc. Every room in the house was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The lounge and conservatory was beautiful with a deck comfortable seating. In the vicinity, and within easy walking distance, is a small township with excellent restaurants (the Thai is yummy!) as well as a New World supermarket. A bus stop is nearby so that an easy hop into the heart of Wellington can be accomplished without the hassle of traffic or finding a car park. What made our trip most special was the welcome we received by Jos and Lucien, what wonderful hosts and truly special people. Botanica Homestay is a wonderful place to stay whether as a romantic get-away or a restful stop-over on the way to the South Island. I highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words. We enjoyed having you stay with us and really associate the extensive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey69...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was a wonderful place to stay for our trip. Beautiful setting and facilities just lovely definitely will return again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our stay at the Botanica Homestay in February was just brilliant. Jos and Lucien were very welcoming and the accomodation was everything you need - nice large rooms, with a lovely lounge and eating area. Really felt like a home away from home.

The location is in a lovely part of Miramar and a short walk away from the local shops and restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely homely environment and the size of the rooms.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks so much, Lauren! We're glad to enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pink L
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Botanica Homestay - a lovely home away from home”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Jos and Lucien, YES it is 6 STARS review !!
Thanks so much for your hospitality and a great B&B you have provided. It really feels like home away from home. The conservatory is my favourite place as it is just so cosy seating here listening to music, enjoying morning coffee and wines (in the evening, of course !!)
We would have loved to stay longer. Will definetly come and stay again when we come visit to Wellington.
Thanks so much for making sure the room is warm after we come back from cold and wet golfing trip, All the thoughts you have put in to make us feel comfortable is very much appreciated.
And glad to meet Maxi who is just so adorable.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thanks, Pink! Glad you enjoyed it so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdg5360
Thornton, Colorado
2 reviews
“Warm and cozy home”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a wonderful place to stay! Lucien and Yas are such lovely hosts. Their home is warm , clean with all the amenities available. Their home was in the perfect location for our stay,being close to the ferry to South Island, and also outside the city of Wellington for peaceful walk and restaurants. Thank you so much for your hospitality in New Zealand.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Location of property ,and lovely conversations with hosts
Liked least: There are some stairs to climb to property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing