We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
HowardDawson
Christchurch, New Zealand

We'll Be Back

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jun 2024
Nice big apartment for two adults and two teenagers. A good fully equipped kitchen. Quiet and warm. A very pleasant and helpful host. Great location. right next to the convention centre and a five-minute walk from Te Papa and the waterfront. Yep, we'll be back.
Howard Dawson (June 2024)
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
U Residence, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind, positive and generous comments which we shall treasure greatly.

We humbly believe that it is our service attitude that differentiates U Residence from other hotels in the region. Your kind comments have assured us and motivated us further.

We hope to continue being the preferred hotel for all your future stays.

With sincerity in service,
U Hotels Staff and Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$174
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • Vio.com
    $171
  • Trip.com
0.6 km from U Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Agoda.com
    $165
  • Expedia.com
    $176
1.4 km from U Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
External Hero
$140
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Agoda.com
    $116
  • Expedia.com
    $125
0.8 km from U Residence Hotel
$141
  • Official Site
    $152
  • Priceline
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $170
0.5 km from U Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
$138
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $220
  • Hotels.com
    $140
  • Trip.com
    $150
0.6 km from U Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$171
  • Priceline
    $186
  • Vio.com
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $186
1.9 km from U Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Guest room bath
$251
  • Priceline
    $251
  • Algotels
    $213
  • Sofitel
    $251
1.4 km from U Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
$125
  • Priceline
    $125
  • ibis
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $125
0.9 km from U Residence Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Deluxe King Harbour View
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $193
  • Algotels
    $159
  • Expedia.com
    $169
1.2 km from U Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$202
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $202
  • Expedia.com
    $202
  • Hotel Website
    $202
4.8 km from U Residence Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveller rating
834
266
83
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
834
266
83
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te papa museum washer dryer great location new world supermarket studio apartment across the road top floor comfortable bed small balcony courtenay place after hours a great stay within walking distance coffee machine courtney place full kitchen cooking facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,214 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2024

Fantastic communication and directions given, from the team at U Residence, for easy entry and parking.
Very clean accommodation in a great location for Wellington town shopping and meals.
Loved our stay and will stay here again on future travels to Wellington.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
U Residence, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

We are humbled to receive your heartening review.

Positive reassurances by our guests energize us to continue the tradition of weaving the signature of the U Hotels Hospitality into their stays.

Our Service Operating Procedures are taken very seriously every single day and we appreciate you taking note of it. Our young team are happy to learn that their warm yet unobtrusive services were well received and ensured a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to many more opportunities of welcoming you all back to your home away from home in the near future.

With sincerity in service,
U Hotels Staff and Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2024

U Residence Hotel is always a fantastic place to stay, and our company use it regularly for our staff and client booking whenever we are in Wellington. The rooms are very nice and spacious, and it's always quiet and private. It's really close to the CBD restaurants and bars, and easy to access to the airport. Highly recommended.

Scott B - GM - Alliance Services

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pioneer53114396937
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
U Residence, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the U Residence Hotel and for taking the time to share your review.

Our constant effort all across the U Hotels is to create a relaxing environment and offer efficient, friendly and unobtrusive service with attention to details. We are very happy to note that every aspect of your experience was excellent.

All of us at the U Hotels look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With sincerity in service,
U Hotels Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2024

I enjoyed my stay at the U Residence Hotel in Wellington. The room was very comfortable, clean and tidy, and decorated really well. It was nice to also have a good selection of condiments in the room, including a good sized bottle of milk. The location is excellent (5 mins to the Michael Fowler Centre, less than 10mins to Cuba Street and shopping) and I had a lovely view with a balcony. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amycB6614PE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
U Residence, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2024

Dear Guest,

We are glad that we could create a home away from home for you at the U Residence Hotel.

The entire service team aspire to ensure that our guests will have a memorable experience at the Hotel. Your appreciation is an assurance that we have succeeded in this endeavour.

We hope to continue being your preferred Hotel in Wellington.

With sincerity in service,
U Hotels Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2024 via mobile

The property is centrally located, easily accessible , has all that the average traveller would need. Reception is by remote access with clear instructions by email including photos. Parking available across the road. Very comfy bed. Kitchenette has sufficient things for breakfast. Good cafe in convention centre next door. Would stay there again. Good value for money

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mike385
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
U Residence, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the U Residence Hotel. We all are grateful for having the opportunity to host you.

We are delighted to learn that you left with a positive impression of the hotel and its services. We are grateful for your kind words of appreciation. We hope to continue being the preferred hotel for all your future stays.

With sincerity in service,
U Hotels Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2024

I booked one night (15 May) through Booking.com and was charged $377.92. I called U Residence to add one more night and was charged another $762.60 (I should have asked how much it would be, but didn't expect it to be more than double). I sent them a message querying the amount and received no explanation. Even worse, our flights were cancelled (twice) and after each cancellation I called to inform them within minutes of each cancellation. After the second, I asked if we could change our booking as no flights were available and we would need to cancel our trip. It was a short, sharp NO. I told the guy we would have been happy with even a percentage as a credit (not a refund), still a NO. He said we should have informed him earlier.. like what?? ESP is not my strong suit. $1140 out of pocket, no fault of either party but man where has compassion gone?

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank AHunter_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
U Residence, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid comments which we respectfully disagree.

Firstly, you booked a one-night stay through booking.com with a non-refundable policy.

Then, you decided to extend your stay by one more night, and luckily the hotel offered you a discounted rate due to high demand.

However, on the day of your original arrival, you had to call and inform the hotel that your flight was cancelled, resulting in your arrival being postponed to the next day. Since your booking was non-refundable through booking.com, unfortunately, this change wasn't under the hotel's control.

Hotel still made every effort to secure an alternate new booking after your cancellation, but regrettably no booking was received.

We look forward to welcome you back n any of the U Hotels in Wellington.

With sincerity in service,
U Hotels Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews