We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
109loveholidays
Dollar, United Kingdom

All in all an excellent stay!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Feb 2024
Cant fault this apart/hotel. Room was very clean, large and comfortable. Was great to have parking in our package and we didnt have to use the car during our stay. Was also great to have a washing machine/dryer in the room which we made use of. We used the shortcut through the parking garage to the centre of Wellington, all the attractions were walkable. It was an easy drive to the interislander ferry terminal.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steffen Dittrich, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 17 Feb 2024
Thank you for your lovely review! We're glad to help you enjoyed your stay at Wellington and explored our beautiful city. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $196
  • Agoda.com
    $165
  • StayForLong
0.7 km from Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Reception Lady Naumi Naumi Studio Hotel Wellington
$197
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • Trip.com
    $218
  • Vio.com
    $198
1.1 km from Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Sojourn Apartment Hotel - Ghuznee  Building Exterior
$149
  • Official Site
    $161
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Priceline
    $162
0.8 km from Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Free Wifi
Guest room bath
$287
  • Sofitel
    $287
  • Vio.com
    $287
  • Expedia.com
    $287
0.7 km from Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$171
  • Expedia.com
    $186
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Priceline
    $186
2.6 km from Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior view
$125
  • ibis
    $125
  • StayForLong
    $126
  • Expedia.com
    $125
0.3 km from Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
JCHGC Exterior
$149
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $149
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Tripadvisor
    $149
0.1 km from Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe King Harbour View
$203
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $203
  • Algotels
    $186
  • Hotel Website
    $203
0.6 km from Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$138
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    $139
  • StayForLong
  • Hotels.com
    $138
1.1 km from Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$233
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $233
  • StayForLong
    $220
  • Hotel Website
    $233
5.6 km from Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
658 results
Traveller rating
332
238
67
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
332
238
67
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine lambton quay car park washer dryer in the room great location plimmer steps central location reception staff small kitchen easy access comfortable bed min walk wellington cbd te papa shortcut noise lift
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 658 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2023

The location is great. Everything you need is within walking distance. The room was very comfortable with everything you need. Although I do think the carpet needed some vacuuming and the dryer setting on the washing machine didn’t work that well, so I used the dryer machine in the building which was a life saver and they even provided me with coins.

Now the customer service is excellent. I forgot my airpods in my hotel room and they delivered it to me at the airport. Amazing! When I had trouble finding the parking, they came out with me outside and showed me where it was. Same with the laundry facilities, they walked me there and showed me how to use the machines. The staff here is excellent! Do not hesitate to book!

Room tip: Don’t use the dryer setting on the washer, use the coin laundry in the building instead
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steffen Dittrich, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive review! I'm delighted to hear you find our staff friendly and we have provided an excellent service. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. If you book your next trip feel free to use promo code HELLO15 to save 15% on all rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

Really comfortable, warm units and right in cdb so walking is easy through the carpark short cut
I must say its quite noisy on one side early in morning ie 5.30 am with rubbish trucks and goods vehicles,( not the 1st time ive stayed here and heard it) we were on 2nd floor.
Units really well equiped and great shower pressure.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 786Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steffen Dittrich, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2023

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and our central location. We are sorry you experienced some external noise during you stay and do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2023

Comfortable apartment, warm, comfy beds and pillows. Very clean. Had an issue when we arrived as there was no power in the bedrooms, but a phone call to reception quickly identified the circuit breaker had been tripped which was then re-set. Good location. Limited parking but we had reserved a space when originally booking our accommodation. Despite being told we could leave the car in the same space as it was quiet the next day, when we returned from our exploring at 2pm we had a warning left on the windscreen that we would be fined if we were a repeat offender - which we weren't so luckily our hire car didn't get a fine.

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bellaeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steffen Dittrich, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2023

Wife and I stayed for 3 nights while on a driving tour of the north island. Spacious and well appointed and had everything we needed for our visit. It is very close and handy to Lambton Quay, Wellington Central (5 min walk) and waterfront

Room tip: One bedroom apartment at end of building is veey nice
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JohnandRobynL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steffen Dittrich, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2023

Thank you for your lovely review and delighted you enjoyed our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2023

This hotel is off the street, sort of between bigger buildings but is really in a good location for downtown, 5-10 min walk, if you take the shortcut to Lansdale Quay (through a parking garage and down an elevator. We arrived late and there was no one at the desk, effectively no desk (behind some sort of partition), but they had a box with a code and inside an envelope with some instructions and the key. It all worked and the room fit our needs perfectly. It was very economically laid out, no extra square footage, with separate spaces for sleeping and a living-couch and kitchen- area, plus the real winner, a washer dryer in the room! On line it seems other rooms are not the same, by the way. Once down to L.Q. there are restaurants and shops and a supermarket for food to make whatever you like. The design of the hotel is sort of different, narrow and low hallways, but our rooms were fine, with zero view (sandwiched in other buildings). In the morning there was staff, and they were very helpful.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank N7006JUtimk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steffen Dittrich, General Manager at Gilmer Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2023

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews