We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
michelle502015
Lower Hutt, New Zealand

The location of the Bolton is excellent. Easy access to the city and great areas to walk in close bye.

Review of Bolton Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
The Bolton has great views over the city and Tinakori area. It is quiet and the parking is easy to access if you choose not to drive in the city. Meals in the restaurant are of a high standard and the staff are very helpful. The beds are very comfortable and linen of a high standard.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: The gym is easy to access and well equipped. Love the mini bar selection. The rooms are...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Good Afternoon Michelle,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for exploring the city and quiet too! We hope to welcome you back to Bolton Hotel when you next visit the city.

Warm regards,
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
External Hero
$138
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $112
  • Expedia.com
    $128
0.7 km from Bolton Hotel
Exterior view
$143
  • Novotel
    $143
  • ZenHotels.com
    $134
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Bolton Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Deluxe King Harbour View
$182
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    $160
  • Hotel Website
    $168
0.4 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$141
  • Expedia.com
    $170
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $170
1.5 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
JCHGC Exterior
$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $148
  • Expedia.com
    $158
0.6 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$170
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $172
  • Trip.com
1.8 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
$125
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $120
  • ibis
    $125
0.5 km from Bolton Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$195
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Expedia.com
    $195
6.2 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Guest room bath
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    $260
  • ZenHotels.com
    $218
  • Sofitel
    $260
0.0 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (1,838)
Filter reviews
1,838 results
Traveller rating
1,126
503
153
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,126
503
153
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews classic suite premier suite artisan restaurant washer dryer botanical gardens full kitchen new zealand valet parking separate bedroom room service business district star hotel good size comfortable bed lambton quay city centre cable car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,838 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. Everything was easy, from access in the CBD to check in and check out. Friendly staff, terrific facilities (except the swimming pool which was cold!) and our room was very comfortable and well appointed. Considering everything, we also felt that the price was very reasonable too.

Room tip: Arrange a late check out. It’s free!
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RickM638
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good Afternoon Rick,

Thank you so much for your review, it's fantastic to learn you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient for exploring the city. Above all, as we pride ourselves on service, it's great to hear our team made such a good impression!
We hope to welcome you back to Bolton Hotel very soon!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for work and absolutely loved it. Spacious with great views. Great little kitchen with most things that you’d need. The gym is a bit meh and it closes in the evening so it’s not ideal but other than that I loved it . Well positioned for the shops and restaurants too

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank V4871EProberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and found your room spacious and well-equipped. To ensure noise is at a minimum for guests on the same floor, our gym is open from 5am until 11pm, but it's wonderful to hear you found our location convenient for the city, it's shops and restaurants.
We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2024

So, this is a tough place to review. It is very 70's (by design, I think?). Shag carpet, etc. Folks were nice. Place seemed to be clean. Restaurant was good as was the room service. Not quite my cup of tea but it is close to a lot of spots (not far from train station). Unlikely we would stay there again but would still recommend it; just look at the photos and reviews - it might be just what you need. Reasonably priced.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinW1431
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good Morning Colin,

Many thanks for your review, it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay though I'm sorry to hear the room left a little to be desired on this occasion. We are currently in the process of a refurbishment and over 60% of our rooms are now refurbished with more modern decor in blues and golds. To avoid disappointment, we don't yet advertise images of these new rooms until we are confident we can guarantee them. Should our guests want a guaranteed refurbished room, our Premier Suites are all 100% refurbished.
It's great to hear you found our location convenient for exploring the city and close to the train station and we hope to welcome you back should you return to Wellington.

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2024

great service from check-in, a real professional feeling, always clean, tidy, and beautifully presented, the gym, sauna, and pool are wonderful, and the location is outstanding with great parking.

Room tip: book the valet parking, or there is a parking building over the small one-way street to the north.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trek55189154770
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing Bolton Hotel for your recent trip to Wellington. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the facilities and above all found our team to be excellent, we truly pride ourselves on friendly and personal service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2024

We went with Moa Tours. On the whole the hotel was adequate as it is very central for visitors. The room was equipped with every device imaginable. However the food service left something to be desired. The sirloin steak at dinner was very under-cooked which gave us pensioners a lot of trouble. The wine waiter could not even get my husband's order correct - gave him white instead of red wine - it was corrected.

Room tip: Do not order sirloin steak!
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Good Morning,

Many thanks for your review, I'm sorry to hear that your dining experience didn't meet expectations on this occasion. Our chefs always serve our set-menu sirloin steak medium rare being the ideal temperature for this particular cut, I'm sorry to hear this caused some issues, our team are investigating to ensure nothing changed on this occasion. Our à la carte menu has more cuts available and steaks can be cooked to order. Similarly, I'm sorry to hear there was some confusion with your husband's wine order, with white Pinot Gris and red Pinot Noir on the menu, miscommunications can occasionally occur, I am glad that the team rectified this promptly.
It's great to hear you found your room to be well-equipped and we hope the rest of your tour went smoothly.

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews