We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Colin W
Richmond, Virginia

Look at photos/reviews.

Review of Bolton Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 May 2024
So, this is a tough place to review. It is very 70's (by design, I think?). Shag carpet, etc. Folks were nice. Place seemed to be clean. Restaurant was good as was the room service. Not quite my cup of tea but it is close to a lot of spots (not far from train station). Unlikely we would stay there again but would still recommend it; just look at the photos and reviews - it might be just what you need. Reasonably priced.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 13 May 2024
Good Morning Colin,

Many thanks for your review, it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay though I'm sorry to hear the room left a little to be desired on this occasion. We are currently in the process of a refurbishment and over 60% of our rooms are now refurbished with more modern decor in blues and golds. To avoid disappointment, we don't yet advertise images of these new rooms until we are confident we can guarantee them. Should our guests want a guaranteed refurbished room, our Premier Suites are all 100% refurbished.
It's great to hear you found our location convenient for exploring the city and close to the train station and we hope to welcome you back should you return to Wellington.

Warm regards,
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
External Hero
$131
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $121
  • Agoda.com
    $113
  • Expedia.com
    $126
0.7 km from Bolton Hotel
Reception Lady Naumi Naumi Studio Hotel Wellington
$198
Fully refundable
  • Trip.com
    $218
  • Agoda.com
    $197
1.8 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$171
  • Priceline
    $186
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Expedia.com
    $185
3.2 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Sojourn Apartment Hotel - Ghuznee  Building Exterior
$149
  • Official Site
    $161
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • Priceline
    $162
1.5 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior view
$125
  • ibis
    $125
  • Priceline
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $125
0.5 km from Bolton Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Deluxe King Harbour View
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • StayForLong
    $168
  • Hotel Website
    $178
0.4 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Guest room bath
$287
  • Sofitel
    $287
  • Expedia.com
    $285
  • Priceline
    $287
0.0 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$138
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $138
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Trip.com
    $150
1.8 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
JCHGC Exterior
$149
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $148
  • Hotels.com
    $149
0.6 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$233
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $232
  • StayForLong
    $218
  • Priceline
    $223
6.2 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (1,845)
Filter reviews
1,846 results
Traveller rating
1,134
503
153
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,134
503
153
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews classic suite premier suite artisan restaurant washer dryer botanical gardens full kitchen new zealand valet parking separate bedroom room service business district star hotel good size comfortable bed lambton quay city centre cable car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,846 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2024

great service from check-in, a real professional feeling, always clean, tidy, and beautifully presented, the gym, sauna, and pool are wonderful, and the location is outstanding with great parking.

Room tip: book the valet parking, or there is a parking building over the small one-way street to the north.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trek55189154770
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing Bolton Hotel for your recent trip to Wellington. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed the facilities and above all found our team to be excellent, we truly pride ourselves on friendly and personal service.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2024

We went with Moa Tours. On the whole the hotel was adequate as it is very central for visitors. The room was equipped with every device imaginable. However the food service left something to be desired. The sirloin steak at dinner was very under-cooked which gave us pensioners a lot of trouble. The wine waiter could not even get my husband's order correct - gave him white instead of red wine - it was corrected.

Room tip: Do not order sirloin steak!
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Good Morning,

Many thanks for your review, I'm sorry to hear that your dining experience didn't meet expectations on this occasion. Our chefs always serve our set-menu sirloin steak medium rare being the ideal temperature for this particular cut, I'm sorry to hear this caused some issues, our team are investigating to ensure nothing changed on this occasion. Our à la carte menu has more cuts available and steaks can be cooked to order. Similarly, I'm sorry to hear there was some confusion with your husband's wine order, with white Pinot Gris and red Pinot Noir on the menu, miscommunications can occasionally occur, I am glad that the team rectified this promptly.
It's great to hear you found your room to be well-equipped and we hope the rest of your tour went smoothly.

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2024

Delicious buffet breakfast, polite helpful staff, good facilities, quiet clean and comfortable. Nice bed/bedding, bathrobe and slippers. Didn't get time to look at pools/gym but nice to have the option. A little far from restaurants/te papa but close to public transport, botanic gardens, waterfront, university and parliament. Room a bit small but fine for single/couple.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Camillerosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Good Morning,

Many thanks for your review, it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and breakfast was a hit! We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

A perfect stay for families. Myself and my four year old son had a wonderful stay. We loved the pool and spa. The hotel is close to the Botanicle gardens. We used this route to get to and from town every day.
The bed is extremely comfy. Great kitchen facilities. Helpful and friendly staff.
Thank you so much. We will be returning soon.

Room tip: It was great to find a hotel that was away from the busy center.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler831798
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your review, it's fantastic to hear you and your son enjoyed your recent stay with us. I'm so glad the pool and spa were a hit after exploring the city and the nearby Botanic Gardens. Above all, it's wonderful to hear you found our team to be friendly and helpful, we truly do pride ourselves on service and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024

We stayed in the two bedroom suite which was excellent for our adult family. Great beds, great lounge area and really good facilities if you wanted to cook for yourself on a longer stay. Having two bathrooms worked really well.
The buffet breakfasts are consistently good.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 413Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Good Morning Barbara,

Thank you so much for choosing Bolton Hotel for your recent trip to Wellington. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and the two-bedroom suite was perfect for your needs. We hope to welcome you all back should you return to Wellington.

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews