We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Isabel H
Taupo

A very central hotel with excellent accommodation but food service is not up to scratch..

Review of Bolton Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 May 2024
We went with Moa Tours. On the whole the hotel was adequate as it is very central for visitors. The room was equipped with every device imaginable. However the food service left something to be desired. The sirloin steak at dinner was very under-cooked which gave us pensioners a lot of trouble. The wine waiter could not even get my husband's order correct - gave him white instead of red wine - it was corrected.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Do not order sirloin steak!
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 7 May 2024
Good Morning,

Many thanks for your review, I'm sorry to hear that your dining experience didn't meet expectations on this occasion. Our chefs always serve our set-menu sirloin steak medium rare being the ideal temperature for this particular cut, I'm sorry to hear this caused some issues, our team are investigating to ensure nothing changed on this occasion. Our à la carte menu has more cuts available and steaks can be cooked to order. Similarly, I'm sorry to hear there was some confusion with your husband's wine order, with white Pinot Gris and red Pinot Noir on the menu, miscommunications can occasionally occur, I am glad that the team rectified this promptly.
It's great to hear you found your room to be well-equipped and we hope the rest of your tour went smoothly.

Warm regards,
Paul


This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior view
$125
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis
    $125
0.5 km from Bolton Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
JCHGC Exterior
$149
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$141
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.8 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
External Hero
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $146
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Bolton Hotel
Deluxe King Harbour View
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $166
  • Expedia.com
    $187
3.2 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Sojourn Apartment Hotel - Ghuznee  Building Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $170
1.5 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Queen Studio with Shared Bathroom
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $80
  • eDreams
1.9 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $218
  • Algotels
6.2 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $96
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Bolton Hotel
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (1,846)
Filter reviews
1,846 results
Traveller rating
1,134
503
153
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,134
503
153
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews classic suite premier suite artisan restaurant washer dryer botanical gardens full kitchen new zealand valet parking separate bedroom room service business district star hotel good size comfortable bed lambton quay city centre cable car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,846 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2024

Delicious buffet breakfast, polite helpful staff, good facilities, quiet clean and comfortable. Nice bed/bedding, bathrobe and slippers. Didn't get time to look at pools/gym but nice to have the option. A little far from restaurants/te papa but close to public transport, botanic gardens, waterfront, university and parliament. Room a bit small but fine for single/couple.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Camillerosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Good Morning,

Many thanks for your review, it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and breakfast was a hit! We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2024

A perfect stay for families. Myself and my four year old son had a wonderful stay. We loved the pool and spa. The hotel is close to the Botanicle gardens. We used this route to get to and from town every day.
The bed is extremely comfy. Great kitchen facilities. Helpful and friendly staff.
Thank you so much. We will be returning soon.

Room tip: It was great to find a hotel that was away from the busy center.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler831798
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for your review, it's fantastic to hear you and your son enjoyed your recent stay with us. I'm so glad the pool and spa were a hit after exploring the city and the nearby Botanic Gardens. Above all, it's wonderful to hear you found our team to be friendly and helpful, we truly do pride ourselves on service and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024

We stayed in the two bedroom suite which was excellent for our adult family. Great beds, great lounge area and really good facilities if you wanted to cook for yourself on a longer stay. Having two bathrooms worked really well.
The buffet breakfasts are consistently good.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 413Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Good Morning Barbara,

Thank you so much for choosing Bolton Hotel for your recent trip to Wellington. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and the two-bedroom suite was perfect for your needs. We hope to welcome you all back should you return to Wellington.

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024

The Bolton was a mixed experience for us. Our room on the 13th floor was very large with a nice tub, washing machine and small kitchenette. We thought the decor was nice (although the wallpaper was peeling).

A couple things weren't ideal. Although we had a small kitchenette, the only thing provided to cook in was a single pot. A pan would've been more useful. There were no notes saying more cookware was available, so we just used the microwave.

Usually when you check in to a hotel, they ask if you've visited before and if not, they welcome you and let you know about the features and amenities of the hotel. However, when we checked in, we were just handed a key and told where the elevators were.

One other thing that surprised me is that there's apparently no outgoing mail drop. I had some postcards to mail and asked the concierge where the outgoing mail should go and he explained to me that I would have to walk a few blocks down the road to find a place. I was really surprised that I couldn't mail directly from the hotel and I guess I showed it because he said, "Oh, I guess I could mail them for you." (Which I did appreciate).

I chose the Bolton for the location and the fact that I could get a room with a washing machine. If that was available at a different property, I might choose somewhere else next time.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank toomuchresearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Good Morning,

Many thanks for your review, I'm sorry to hear there were a few issues during your stay.

Our team are always on the end of the phone to provide extra amenities, we currently list this in the digital compendium and are working on improving our in-room ipads to allow our guests to order amenities and utensils from the ipad.

It is our standard practice to explain the hotel amenities at check-in on a guest's first visit so I'm sorry to hear this wasn't the case on this occasion.

While the hotel doesn't have a mail drop, it is our standard practice for our concierge to post items on our guest's behalf. We are training new concierge so please accept our apologies that our concierge didn't offer this immediately.

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

The Bolton hotel is most probably one of the most comfortable hotels we have stayed in and we have stayed in a few. Bath tea for the bath and little extras in the bathroom. Soft carpets for bare feet. Comfortable lounges. Food is fantastic in the restaurant. We could find no fault with it and we love our food and critique hard😊. Restaurant staff very friendly and helpful. Valet parking excellent. Close to down town Wellington.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for choosing Bolton Hotel for your recent trip to Wellington. It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay and your suite was comfortable.

We hope to welcome you back should you return to Wellington!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews