We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Janet D
Harrogate, United Kingdom

Lovely Hotel. Admin needs addressing.

Review of Bolton Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Mar 2024
We stayed with friends in 2 x One Bedroom Suites which were lovely. Very well appointed although one looked out over countryside while the other overlooked a building site so it may be worth requesting a room with a nice view!
I guaranteed the rooms with my credit card and on arrival we gave two credit cards and requested that payment was taken separately for each room which we were assured would be. On checking out the gentleman assured us that we would be paying separately but a couple of days later both rooms had been billed to my credit card. Not usually a problem but we were on a 6 week holiday and we needed to keep within our credit limit. The hotel was very unhelpful which is a shame as up to that point we had really enjoyed our stay. I think there was a lack of staff training and this needs addressing.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 11 Apr 2024
Good Morning Janet,

Many thanks for your review, it's wonderful to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the mix-up regarding payment. This should not have happened and day to day, the hotel processes several payments with varying requests and payment types with no issues. We are addressing how this mix-up occurred and are also in the process of updating our entire system to ensure such an issue doesn't occur again.

Warm regards,
Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Guest room bath
$260
  • Sofitel
    $260
  • ZenHotels.com
    $218
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe King Harbour View
$160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $161
0.4 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
$143
  • Novotel
    $143
  • ZenHotels.com
    $134
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Bolton Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
External Hero
$143
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $123
  • Expedia.com
    $157
0.7 km from Bolton Hotel
JCHGC Exterior
$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Expedia.com
    $162
0.6 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$141
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $171
  • Official Site
    $152
1.5 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
$166
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
    $180
1.8 km from Bolton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$121
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $82
  • Expedia.com
    $120
1.2 km from Bolton Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
$125
  • ibis
    $125
  • ZenHotels.com
    $117
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Bolton Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (1,838)
Filter reviews
1,838 results
Traveller rating
1,126
503
153
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,126
503
153
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews classic suite premier suite artisan restaurant washer dryer botanical gardens full kitchen new zealand valet parking separate bedroom room service business district star hotel good size comfortable bed lambton quay city centre cable car
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,838 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2024 via mobile

Reception was excellent; everyone was pleasant, respectful and attentive. The bar/lounge selection was just right for our group. Also had several desserts which were quite delicious. Service overall was good. The showers were terrific!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank bracedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your feedback, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant impressed! Most of all, it's fantastic to hear our team made such a good impression, we truly pride ourselves on friendly and personal service. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Great large hotel in the heart of the business district. Great staff. Parking is expensive ($40) but it is in the downtown area. Great hotel for business, not as good if you are motoring your way around NZ, although it is close to the ferry.

I was traveling by car, there was no kitchen in my room, only a fridge. Nice view though.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for choosing Bolton Hotel for your recent work trip. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back in the future and would love for you to try one of our spacious suites with full kitchens!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024

Excellent service. Best business hotel I have stayed in whilst in Wellington. The rooms were well designed. The room service was swift and the food hot. The entire Team at the Bolton made me feel welcome. The location is perfect for the business traveler.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MartinB4772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2024

Good Morning Martin,

Thank you so much for your review, it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay, despite being in Wellington to work! It's fantastic to hear you found the room to be ideal and room service prompt. We hope to welcome you back very soon, hopefully for a leisure trip!

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

Nice place to stay. Contemporary style with nice restaurant/bar area. Our stay included a delicious buffet breakfast. We did the foodie/wine tour which included chocolatier, a coffee roastery where we roasted our own beans and ended with an amazing Italian lunch.

We took an easy walk to the wharf for lunch and dinner and will include reviews of those spots.

Make sure to take the cable car to the top of for gorgeous views and then follow the path through the botanical gardens and very old cemetery (1800s) which ends at the base of the Bolton hotel.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Gretchen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Good Afternoon Gretchen,

Thank you so much for your review. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and it certainly sounds like you made the most of your time in Wellington too!

We hope to welcome you back should you return to Wellington.

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024

We stayed here towards the end of our tour of New Zealand. Our room wasn't ready (we were early) so we enjoyed a very nice lunch on the first floor. Our room was like a small apartment with a kitchen/lounge area and washing machine. It was all very smart and comfortable with a lovely spacious bathroom. Recommended!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Bolton Hotel, Marketing at Bolton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for choosing Bolton Hotel for your recent trip to Wellington. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and the restaurant was a hit too! We hope to welcome you back to Bolton Hotel should you return to Wellington.

Warm regards,
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews