We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Gwenda B
llangollen

Shame we had to leave!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Mar 2020via mobile
We stayed at this B and B on our way from NZ to Hong Kong. We chose it because of its location by the beach and 6 mins. away from the airport. It is a beautiful house full of character, a real home from home in a peaceful location, perfect for anyone who wants a rest after a hectic touring holiday. There are steps up to the house but we managed to carry 2 fairly heavy cases with no problem. The hosts are welcoming without being overly gushing. We were sorry to have to leave so very early in the morning. In hindsight we should have stayed for 2 or 3 nights. I recommend this establishment for anyone who wishes to stay in a quiet, beautiful part of Wellington.
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Reception Lady Naumi Naumi Studio Hotel Wellington
$202
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • Vio.com
    $209
  • Trip.com
    $274
4.8 km from Beachfront Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
$171
  • Priceline
    $186
  • Vio.com
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $186
4.2 km from Beachfront Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
$202
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $202
  • Algotels
    $197
  • Hotel Website
    $203
2.2 km from Beachfront Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
External Hero
$139
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $127
  • Vio.com
    $124
  • Agoda.com
    $126
5.4 km from Beachfront Wellington Bed and Breakfast
$164
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Agoda.com
    $178
  • Trip.com
    $182
4.9 km from Beachfront Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Vio.com
    $172
  • Expedia.com
    $197
5.8 km from Beachfront Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Sojourn Apartment Hotel - Ghuznee  Building Exterior
$141
  • Official Site
    $152
  • Priceline
    $153
  • Expedia.com
    $170
5.0 km from Beachfront Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Deluxe King Harbour View
$206
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $200
  • StayForLong
    $193
  • Hotel Website
    $206
5.5 km from Beachfront Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Pool
Guest room bath
$251
  • Tripadvisor
    $251
  • Priceline
  • Sofitel
    $251
5.8 km from Beachfront Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
$125
  • Priceline
    $125
  • ibis
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $125
5.4 km from Beachfront Wellington Bed and Breakfast
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
60
19
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
19
8
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2019

We stayed one night after flying into Wellington. We arrived late at night but had made easy arrangements to get into our accommodation. The room was really warm and cosy and the bed was super comfy. The bathroom was very clean. Beautiful view of the bay from our window. The hosts were lovely and friendly. The hosts were friendly and they made a great cooked breakfast for us. A nice homely place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrunkOnLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2019

Oh dear, won't be staying here again, and cannot recommend this B&B in Seatoun.

We booked on the basis of it's description and location, should have looked more closely at the reviews. But yerno, I was in a hurry, and accommodation was filling up fast on a busy weekend in Welly which was hosting some big national events.

Unfortunately, our experience appears to have been the same as other recent reviewers. My first impression on arrival, having climbed the steps through the narrow gate to the porch was that it was a little unkempt, with household odds and sods kind of caste aside on the porch. Inside was the same, bit of a cluttered mess, stuffy smell... Ah well, it's somebody's busy home...

It was not a particularly welcome greeting when we arrived, we seemed to be just another "booking", and we carried our luggage up the very narrow stairs to the upper level. We were looking forward to the advertised views of the beach and harbour but unfortunately there was a big tree and power pole bang smack in the view instead. No matter... hopefully other aspects would make up for that.

As other reviewers have mentioned, we were also looking for some area to use as a lounge/sitting/relaxing area, as the room is quite compact. None was offered, and to be honest, I didn't feel comfortable asking, after having to ask where breakfast was to be served (in the family kitchen). When we went to check this out we unfortunately met the 'waspy' wife - as aptly described by another reviewer. No greeting, didn't even look at us, said something in unfriendly tone with her back turned to us, that I couldn't make out. So, we high-tailed it into the city to experience Welly's wonderful hospitality for the rest of the day.

On returning to our accommodation about 10pm there was a strong smell of frying onions in our room which seemed to waft up from the kitchen directly below our room. We shut the toilet window (toilet door could not be shut properly) thinking that was how it was getting in, but the smell persisted through the night and was still strong in the morning. This was MOST unpleasant!

But here's the good - breakfast was plenty and pleasant, cooked by Craig the husband. In conversation with him it becomes apparent that he is the one who wants to do B&B and the wife DOES NOT. So, she is successfully sabotaging it because we will not return and nor can we recommend.

Suggest Craig looks for another business partner...

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DocJazzandProfGazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at this lovely B&B . Location straight opposite the beach and only a short drive to the city centre. The hosts were very welcoming, with homemade cookies in our room! Very helpful with our itinerary for the visit and very accommodating with breakfast times, working around our plans. Overall a great place to stay.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 556JaneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2018

Arrived by taxi from the airport (about $20) after 8pm and had to leave at 4:15am next morning for our next flight. Our host met us in his robe, but was welcoming and most agreeable about calling us a taxi for our early departure. He showed us the breakfast area and said we should help ourselves if we wished. The room is just as pictured. Very cosy and pretty, with soft pillows, comfortable bed and warm duvets. Tea/coffee making facilities were available in the room as well as snuggly soft robes! Shared bathroom was as spotlessly clean and well-equipped as the bedroom. Oh, and did I mention being lulled to sleep by the ocean! I only wish we could have stayed longer! Next time we will!

Room tip: No idea about the other room, but we are an older couple and we loved the cosiness of the twin room!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roberta46
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 October 2018

A beautiful double fronted home with quirky charmful decoration.
Our room had the en-suite and was clean and spacious.
The host, Craig greeted us warmly. We are the sort of guests that like to be respectful to owners that are taking us into their own home albeit whilst paying for our stay ~ so we take our slippers (sad I know) with us and when in the room place our outdoor shoes on plastic in our attempts to keep floors nice and clean. Nor are we guests that make a lot of demands or requests ~ basically we're easy to please. First day breakfast was in the family's own main kitchen as there is no seperate dining room to hand. Craig did a sterling job and I have to say the food was delicious. We asked where our hostess was and was informed she was out running. I have to say this was one day in our 4 week trip that I actually wasn't feeling too well and asked permission from Craig if I could just finish my tea off whilst sat in the window seat. He said that would be fine. However when 'waspy' wife arrived back she came into the kitchen and rather then greet us with at least a 'hello' said 'oh sorry you're there are you ~ well it's alright for now but you can't stay in all day'. I made a hasty retreat and as we put on our trainers in the hall I could elaborate more to the conversation that followed and for which we both could hear. So off we went not daring to return too soon for fear of upsetting her. Then as we retreated to our room in the evening their own guests arrived for a meal....as there appears no insulation between the kitchen ceiling directly down below us we could hear every word said ~ again no comment but the language from one young sounding female was interesting to say the least. Trying to look on the positive we appreciated all Craig had done for us and the lovely accommodation that we had but as we took our final morsel on our final day we once more heard 'waspy' right outside in the hall and not once did she pop her head in to ask if we'd had a comfortable stay and to say good bye. So sadly whilst I try my hardest not to give a negative comment on these reviews and we really do like to offer kind words, in this instance and after 19 different B&Bs stays in 28 days ~ waspy wife in Wellington gets the thumbs down from us.....you're just lucky Craig was there to lend a hand!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews