We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST-GO-TO Cafe/restaurant in Wellington”
Review of Boat Cafe

Boat Cafe
Ranked #467 of 982 Restaurants in Wellington
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Fabulous atmosphere, lovely food and drink, Super friendly staffs

So glad we discovered this gem! I got the Benedict egg breakfast sandwich and coffee. The food were great, lovely helpful staff, fast serve, stunning view.

Amazing cafe. Will definitely highly recommend to all!

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Edenjonessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2021 via mobile

So disappointing to have to write this. We used to absolutely love coming to what was then, the parade cafe. Went back after a couple a 3yr break and was massively disappointed. Went in for a coffee, the waitress was unfriendly and took her time, there was no customer service whatsoever. Also the vibe in the cafe just felt like a disaster, no music, no upbeat tempo. It felt like a crappy hotel restaurant. We won’t be going back until there are huge changes. So disappointed because it’s just a great spot and outlook. Don’t waste your time peeps. Also, $5.50 for a small takeaway coffee, wtf.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank ypup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2021 via mobile

Unbeatable location. The drinks and the cakes were by no means bad (coffees are on the small side) but generally the view is just beautiful which is the cafe’s main selling point. With some redecorating and a bit of love this place could easily be 5*.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank NZJ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

It is a "floating" cafe that is next to the beach. Well, don't worry, you won't feel sea sick as it doesn't really float.
There are many tables indoor but it was very quiet. We can choose our own table. We didn't notice the area with bigger windows or we would surely sit there!

You need to order at the cashier as most other fast food restaurants.

My daughter ordered fluffy pancake and she said it was pretty good. It isn't as fluffy as the Japanese pancake but more fluffy than most in Wellington.
Hamburger is average without much surprise.

The staffs were all friendly and polite.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cpcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2020 via mobile

I remember this restaurant from years ago, where was a stunner, once we saw the dilapidated appearance this time we should have walked away, instead we stayed and endured disinterested service and dull poorly cooked food, surely fish and chips shouldn't be hard to deliver however ours featured soggy batter, tasteless fish, undercooked chips and a limp salad, only positive is the location.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boat Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Boat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.