We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The famous crab shack”
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
Ranked #88 of 1,063 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: US$10 - US$23
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately, after deliberating the menu, we made our decision but they only had one out of the two types of crab on the menu. So we selected the one choice. While it was nice, and the sauce was amazing, I think $60 is quite overpriced for the amount of meat you get and the sauce is wasted if there nothing to dip in it :/

Thank HeidiF576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

We are glad to hear that the Crab and Sauce was amazing, we sell this for $50 rather than $60. Our New Zealand Paddle crab is the best value for money. We hope to see you again.
Cheers,
Crab Shack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2018

Taken to this restaurant by my daughter who lives near Wellington NZ. The location is superb right on the quay near to Te Papa Museum. I'm not particularly happy with fish so the burgers were very welcome and superb. But it gets very very busy so weekends you must book,service is quick and served with the usual Kiwi hospitality (nothing is too much trouble). would I go back,??? yes yes yes, will be there again in September when re visiting my Daughter if you do go let me know what you're experience was there also an underground market no too far away ask staff for days think it's a week end but not sure.

Thank Teddyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you so much for giving us such a great review! We definitely endeavor to cater to all needs with no fuss, so happy to hear how much you and your daughter enjoyed your visit. See you in September!
The Crab Shack
P.S - Underground markets are every Saturday 10am-4pm, We'll see everyone at the shack after a morning shop! ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

A must if you are a seafood lover, however even if you aren't the chicken wings are yum. Good location!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank belindamcmurray24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thanks for your review! We have a variety of non seafood dishes available as we want everyone to feel welcome in our little shack! Next time your in give our lamb rump or mooloo burger a try! Both are delicious and are favourite items with locals!
Cheers!
Crab Shack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Cool location at the wharf. Slack service, expensive crab feed but the crab did look big and it looked nice.

Thank RustyS215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Great place to stop whilst having a stroll especially during happy hour, $5 Emerson’s and $1 wings .. enough said !

Thank 968ChrisS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shed5crabshack, Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

So happy to hear your a fan of the "$5 Crabby Hour" Unfortunately there's only 1 more week of it so make sure you get down to the waterfront and get your fix of Emerson's! The $1 "Wingin Wednesday" Special will continue on as normal.
Thanks for the review!
The Crab Shack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing