We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service in a lovely atmosphere”
Review of Ombra

Ombra
Ranked #27 of 920 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: European, Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a Venitian inspired bacaro (Bar and Restaurant), serving traditional and modern Italian sharing plates.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Service, food and drinks were outstanding. We shared 4 plates, our waitress was awesome and recommended enough food for us - you can always order more! Just because dinner was amazing we squeezed in tiramisu - so glad we did. The whole staff are totally on top of it - friendly and attentive. Would definitely recommend!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank mattr773
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2021

I was walking around thinking that a late afternoon Prosecco would be nice and found Ombra. They happen to have n aperitif special with Prosecco as an option. Perfect! The wait staff was friendly and efficient. I ended up ordering the chickpea meatballs and they were delicious…edamame sauce, roasted red peppers, capers…yum!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vickik232
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2021 via mobile

The food was very good and the service excellent. Cicchetti are perhaps not as well-known as tapas but equally enjoyable. The name “Shadow” confused me until I realised it refers to a drink. This restaurant is well worth a trip.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Scribo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2021 via mobile

I called to book a table and was told they could fit us in at 1820. Arrived at 1815 to be told they had stopped taking bookings and that it wasn't possible I had booked.

I showed them the number I had called and they confirmed it was theirs. The maitre de then asked me what she should do. They have no tables. Should I give you this table that's for someone else she asked me.

I said they shouldn't accept a booking if they can't honour it.

Apparently the error was mine for not knowing they had stopped taking bookings before they accepted my booking. How foolish of me.

We left. Not sure if the food is any good. The bookings and attitude aren't.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank TrueBlueInNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ombra R, Owner at Ombra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2021

Hi there. We apologise again for this situation, as we did in-store. We genuinely believe you did not book with us and have us confused with another restaurant. We had just one male waitperson that evening, who did not answer the phone; none of our other waitperson (female) recall taking any bookings for that evening past the early afternoon, and they both knew what booking that was; we do not ever take bookings for 5min intervals - for 6.20pm you would have been offered either 6.15pm or 6.30pm, if a booking was available; we did not confirm the number you showed us was ours. We offered to shift you to the bar with a complimentary drink to wait for the next available table but this was refused. We'd like to close this out and ensure your next experience at Ombr is a positive one. Please email me, dean@ombra.co.nz so we can discuss more. Thanks, Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

This place is unreal. The food is well priced, insanely delicious and quite possibly the best I’ve had in a long, long, long time.

The staff were friendly and attentive without being over the top.

I will definitely be back again soon.
Thanks for the wonderful experience

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Kiwilassreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ombra also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Ombra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.