We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast”
Review of Victoria St Cafe

Victoria St Cafe
Ranked #173 of 996 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Located in Wellington city a stone's throw from Civic Square, we serve all-day breakfasts from 6.30am weekdays, as well as great coffee, salads and baking. We also host functions for up to 50 people, and catering for local businesses. We offer free catering delivery to customers in the Wellington CBD.
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

First morning exploring Wellington and stopped in for a quick breakfast. 2 eggs Benedict were perfect and the staff were very accommodating switching my bread for a hash cake ❤️ thank you, this made my day.

Thank 152justenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_St_Cafe, Owner at Victoria St Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2018

Thanks for the review, 152justenes, we're pleased the eggs were just to your liking, and that our staff were on the ball.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Supposed to be a great cafe, my GF and I wanted a yummy lunch. Place not too busy, ordered pasta that waitress recommended. Food took forever to arrive, portion so tiny asked for a microscope...
Spoke with Manager who was uninterested, said could give me more for a charge. I was appalled, sent it back, and we left and ate elsewhere.
Tragic customer service, poor quality and quantity of food. Never again! Wanted to go to the divine Lido cafe but closed for renovations. Avoid at all costs!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roitacop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Tasty traybakes, good cuppa and friendly staff. Perfect spot to chill. Also do selection of sandwiches and breakfast/brunch food - will try these out next time..!

Thank Finbarr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_St_Cafe, Owner at Victoria St Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Finbarr M and thanks for your review. We like "Perfect spot to chill"! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We came for brunch during the busy WOW weekend and the place was busy.
Breakfast portions are large and a half size option of the big breakfast would be great. Prices are a little expensive, a big breakfast is $23 but high quality ingredients.
Our coffee was warm and not hot but it was a busy morning. Coffee was great quality though.
Extra bacon was far too pricey at $6.
Mixed quality of service but possibly due to one of our group moving tables without running it past staff first.

Thank Antarisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_St_Cafe, Owner at Victoria St Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Antarisha, and we're pleased you enjoyed the quality (and size!) of your meal and coffee. We strive to maintain a high standard of food and service even when we're flat out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We had brunch here and really enjoyed the food and the coffee. Staff are really friendly and I can REALLY recommend the Hash with Black Pudding, Eggs and Hollandaise.

Thank sallysteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria_St_Cafe, Owner at Victoria St Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

sallysteer, we appreciate your review. We pride ourselves on our standard of service and food, and yes, the black pudding is a great dish that lots of people fall for!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Victoria St Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Victoria St Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing