We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious desserts”
Review of Picnic Cafe

Picnic Cafe
Ranked #27 of 1,021 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We found the cafe by accident after catching cable car to the top of the hill and then walking down through the gardens. Very glad we did!
I had a rhubarb and apple crumble which was the perfect balance between sweet and tart. My husband had the apple pie which he said was one of the best he has ever tasted! Pastry was nice and light with freshly cooked/stewed apples rather than the awful tinned fillings you sometimes get.
Service was good and there was indoor or outdoor seating. Pretty little cafe attached to the Begonia house, overlooking a rose garden.

Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joey39A, Owner at Picnic Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thanks for your review. We take pride in our service, and food! I’m glad you enjoyed it.
Kind regards
Team Picnic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

We booked for a family birthday lunch and it was excellent. Outdoor seats under shady umbrellas, friendly and helpful wait staff, great food choices: everything we were after. I can recommend the lamb and kumara pie but everyone was happy with their choices. Good beer choices and wine available by the glass. They charged a small fee for serving the cake we brought but had confirmed we understood that at the time of booking. And the setting is of course gorgeous: the rose gardens still blooming and begonia house, complete with stinky flowering succulents and beautiful orchids. We were lucky to find a free 2 hour park by the gardens, which was useful for those using sticks.

Thank JedAfterthought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joey39A, Owner at Picnic Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thanks for your kind review. It is much appreciated. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Team Picnic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

What better place to finish after a ride up to the top of the hill in the Cable car, and a walk down through the gardens.
This place is a hidden secret, locals know about it, but the traveller should also experience the share delights of the food, hospitality, and atmosphere. There is plenty of variety, and the ability to wander down into the City after your meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joey39A, Owner at Picnic Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review. It is much apppreciated! We take pride in our service and food. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Team Picnic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We called in for a coffee but on entering we’re tempted by the idea of brunch. The choosing was the difficult part as the choice covered all our favourites, eventually making our choice. The Pacific eggs are worthy of a special mention, they were outstanding. Great food in a lovely environment at a sensible value for money price.

Thank neil1342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joey39A, Owner at Picnic Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thanks very much for your lovely review. It is very much appreciated!
Hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Team Picnic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Busy place - staff were excellent - friendly, attentive and helpful; food was fresh, well presented and timely; plus VERY tasty! What is not to like about this place! Recommended...we will be back!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joey39A, Owner at Picnic Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely words. We take pride in our service and food. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Kind regards
Team Picnic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Picnic Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Picnic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing