We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
GlobeTrotting452995

Exceptional

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
I had the pleasure of staying at the Sofitel for a month. It was a fantastic experience, made extra special by the attention to detail by the friendly staff and the food was perfect, especially the morning breakfast with barrista coffee. The bed is super comfortable and the location is great, within minutes of the botanical gardens and downtown. My only criticism would be the air conditioning which was overly active, although that's very much an individual preference.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anagha Thareja, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Wellington Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Bonjour Kia Ora,

Thank you so much for choosing Sofitel for your extended stay, and for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic month-long stay and that our friendly staff contributed to making it extra special with their attention to detail.

We're delighted that you enjoyed the perfect food, especially the breakfast with barista coffee, and found our beds super comfortable. It's also great to hear that our central location near the botanical gardens and downtown added to your enjoyment.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the air conditioning. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused. Your comments have been noted, and we will review the settings to ensure a more comfortable environment for our guests.

Thank you once again for your kind words and valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,

Anagha Thareja
Guest Experience Manager,
Sofitel Wellington
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$196
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
$125
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Deluxe King Harbour View
$195
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$202
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
6.2 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
External Hero
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $137
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Sojourn Apartment Hotel - Ghuznee  Building Exterior
  • Official Site
    $152
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $166
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $146
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Queen Studio with Shared Bathroom
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $79
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
JCHGC Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $147
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (694)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
476
139
46
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
476
139
46
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bose sound system stunning hotel luxury hotel rain shower botanical gardens lambton quay hotel restaurant mini bar comfortable beds valet parking across the road the club lounge cable car jardin cemetery accor parliament
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2024 via mobile

A hotel that does what a hotel should do in every aspect. The two dinners we had were just outstanding and if you get a table close enough to the kitchen and chance to watch the head chef do his thing it’s understandable why the food is so good. He lives his job and is taking all his staff on a food journey.
Being picky the only fault is we had to wait a while for a pre dinner drink
In the bar area.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Fitch2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anagha Thareja, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2024

Bonjour Kia ora, M. Fitch,

Thank you for sharing your very satisfying experience with us. We are thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to meet all your expectations in every aspect.

We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the outstanding dinners and appreciated the opportunity to watch our head chef Joe in action. His passion for his craft and dedication to taking his staff on a food journey truly make our culinary offerings special.

We apologize for the wait you experienced for a pre-dinner drink in the bar area. We will address this with our team to ensure a more efficient service in the future.

Your feedback is invaluable, and we appreciate your detailed comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay.

Warm regards,

Anagha Thareja
Guest Experience Manager,
Sofitel Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2024

Very impressed with this hotel. Well kept, modern, & comfortable. Room was great - well equipped (including a capsule coffee machine) and nicely decorated. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi was strong (not always the case in hotels!) Breakfast was nice with lots of choice. Never stayed in a Sofitel before but if this is the general standard, I will in future.

Room tip: Advised afterwards that the dinner is very good in the restaurant.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anagha Thareja, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2024

Bonjour Kia Ora, M. Jim,

Thank you for your excellent review!

We are delighted to hear that you were very impressed with our hotel. It’s wonderful to know that you found our facilities well-kept, modern, and comfortable. We are pleased that you enjoyed the well-equipped and nicely decorated room, including the coffee machine.

Your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff are greatly appreciated. We strive to provide exceptional service, and it’s rewarding to hear that we succeeded in making your stay pleasant.

We're also glad that the Wi-Fi met your expectations and that you enjoyed the breakfast with its wide variety of choices.

It’s fantastic to hear that your first experience with Sofitel has left such a positive impression, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Warm regards,

Anagha Thareja
Guest Experience Manager,
Sofitel Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2024

This was my first stay at the Sofitel, and I'll gladly go back. Very convenient location for most central Wellington locations, and plenty of cafes, bars and restaurants within a short walk. Stylishly decorated and well-appointed room. A small lobby bar and an on-site restaurant (which I didn't try). Reasonably priced for what you get.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Back_to_Sandringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anagha Thareja, Guest Services / Front Office at Sofitel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2024

Bonjour Kia Ora,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that your first stay at Sofitel met your expectations and that you would gladly return. It's wonderful to know that our convenient location, and stylishly decorated, and well-appointed rooms contributed to your enjoyable stay.

We appreciate your kind words about the value we offer and hope you'll have the opportunity to try our on-site restaurant and lobby bar during your next visit.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Anagha Thareja
Guest Experience Manager,
Sofitel Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024 via mobile

We enjoyed staying at the Sofitel in Wellington. It is a well appointed and comfortable hotel. The rooms are functional and the decor is warm and inviting. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night’s sleep. The reception staff were helpful and friendly.
Located near the Beehive, it is a short walk to the main business district and the waterfront. Parts of Wellington are hilly and there is a short, steep incline to reach this hotel.
We would happily stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TWal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2024

Loved this hotel, easy checkin and check out both times worked with Toni- she was lovely and welcoming.
Rooms were spacious and clean, beds and pillows were wonderful. Hotel was quiet. Location was walking distance to the main hub. Will recommend this to family and friends and we will return ourselves

Room tip: Our room was mountain view - lush and greenery to look at.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews