We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Sofitel
$260
ZenHotels.com
$247
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TWal1
Canberra, Australia

Great Location, Quiet Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Mar 2024via mobile
We enjoyed staying at the Sofitel in Wellington. It is a well appointed and comfortable hotel. The rooms are functional and the decor is warm and inviting. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night’s sleep. The reception staff were helpful and friendly.
Located near the Beehive, it is a short walk to the main business district and the waterfront. Parts of Wellington are hilly and there is a short, steep incline to reach this hotel.
We would happily stay here again.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$191
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.0 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
Novotel
$161
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Tripadvisor
$107
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe King Harbour View
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $174
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
travelodge wellington hotel guest king room
Booking.com
  • Travelodge.com.au
    $146
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $97
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $120
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Petite Double Studio Apartment
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $152
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $202
  • Algotels
6.2 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
  • ibis
    $134
  • ZenHotels.com
    $132
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
474
138
46
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
474
138
46
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bose sound system stunning hotel luxury hotel rain shower botanical gardens lambton quay hotel restaurant mini bar comfortable beds valet parking across the road the club lounge cable car jardin cemetery accor parliament
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2024

Loved this hotel, easy checkin and check out both times worked with Toni- she was lovely and welcoming.
Rooms were spacious and clean, beds and pillows were wonderful. Hotel was quiet. Location was walking distance to the main hub. Will recommend this to family and friends and we will return ourselves

Room tip: Our room was mountain view - lush and greenery to look at.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rhonda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Already left a review expressing how terrible and disappointing our experience was at the restaurant. Club sofitel was also horrendous, left uncleaned and unattended most of the day. Had to keep asking staff to tidy up who just rolled their eyes (great customer service). Housekeeping in the hotel was the only positive for our stay here, they always greeted with a smile and made us feel welcome. Whoever is running the restaurant and the hotel seriously needs to take a closer look at these areas, judging from other reviews, this isn't uncommon for such poor service.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

Lovely hotel handy to everything. Easy walk to the tram up to the Botanic gardens, Space Place and even catch the shuttle to Zealandia, The restaurant has a good menu and make you feel welcome very spacious room, comfortable bed nice clean bathroom.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

absolutely beautiful room we had a king size overlooking the gardens. The rooms are luxurious and classy. Everything you need is here. Nespresso coffee machine, kettle fridge safe iron and board, dressing gowns. The drive/entrance to the hotel is a bit if a challenge with a narrow circular walled entrance on a steep hill! It’s a great location and near all attractions and loads of restaurants etc. although it is a steep short walk up hill from The centre. Only negative is one side of the bed has no power or light switches. There is a lamp but the switch is difficult to reach in the middle of the night.
WiFi is good. We used valet parking at $55 pn which had increased from the $40 we had read. Staff were very helpful and friendly. There was a note in the room to say they were experiencing staff issues with Food and Beverage and this was very obvious on our fourth morning where staff struggled to keep up. It was chaotic with wrong orders being delivered or not at all. It was a shame as all the staff were very young and no one in a senior position to direct the young staff how to cope more efficiently. The breakfast service is the only reason for not giving five stars.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank poroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2024

This is a nice hotel, with nice rooms. It is not absolute top notch luxury, but is quite acceptable for a small scale 5-star hotel.

It's just a short walk from the main city centre of Wellington, close to the Beehive (Parliament Building).

The food in the restaurant was also good. We are members of the Accor ALL program so get discounts on meals and drinks at Accor properties.

We got a good rate over Christmas and overall, was very good value.

All in all, this is a solid choice in New Zealand's capital city.

Recommended.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ValueLuxurySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews