We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
alain chan

Amazing service that made all the difference.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Oct 2021
The experience start right at the moment we stepped in the reception, we were greeted by Melody who is super friendly and offered us water while checking in and clearly explained the features of the hotel to us.

We got upgraded the the Luxury room which include Club Sofitel access. The room is beautiful with a touch of elegance. The sheets are soft and clean, and there is a welcome gift waiting for us as we enter the room.

Sadly due to the Covid level 2 restrictions, Club Sofitel could not operate with the usual buffet spread and self service drinks. We got served by Vera who promptly explain to us about the level 2 restrictions and offered us drinks and snacks during the afternoon tea period. Alcohol are provided during happy hours at the club lounge as it slowly gets crowded as other guests come into the lounge to have a drink. During the happy hour period, it felt understaffed as Vera was zipping in and out to get orders from different tables but understandable due to the current employment market.

Since level 2 restriction is in place, I feel the club will work better if there are paper menus to let guests know what food and drinks are offered, and it will also save some time for the staffs.

Nevertheless it is still a flawless stay, had a good night sleep check out smoothly the next day. Would definitely try out the restaurant Jardin Grill on my next stay, unfortunately it wasn't open on Monday, maybe due to Labour day.
Date of stay: October 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raymond Faulkner, General Manager at Sofitel Wellington Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Bonjour Kia ora , Merci Alainmelon, Thank you, Nga mihi for your kind words and maanaki, support for our hotel and our team. Your time and money spent with us, and your words of encouragement are incredibly valuable to us in educating future guests and also critically celebrating our most valuable asset, our people. Im so grateful you recognized many of our frontline ropū, team. Melody at reception, and Vera in Club Lounge. I know other guests looking at our service will appreciate your indepth review detailing our room makeup and design, linen and housekeeping standards and our F&B service. You have raised some excellent recommendations which I must admit one of them, the table talker with a description of club lounge offers we should have implemented, and I will action today. You also noted the closure of our Monday dinner service in Jardin Grill. This is a good time to advise all potential guests of the service change. It is unlikely to revert back to being open on Mondays as we closed it in response to the limited F&B service and kitchen staffing resource we have. In short, we don't have enough staff to run a full F&B roster for 7 days and have elected to close the restaurant when it has least impact. It is unfortunately a common practice across the Restaurant environment in Wellington and New Zealand generally, a result of border restrictions and limitation on an inbound working visa workforce. Alainmelon, on behalf of the whoe team here you really have been considerate of our team, our hotel and anyone else reading this, offering clear and constructive insight into your stay. Thankyou. merci, nga mihi for it all. Kia hauora, Be well, from our whole team at Sofitel Wellington, Raymond Faulkner, GM
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Reception Lady Naumi Naumi Studio Hotel Wellington
$181
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • Vio.com
    $183
  • Trip.com
1.7 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$138
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $139
  • Trip.com
1.7 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Queen Studio with Shared Bathroom
$100
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $86
  • Agoda.com
    $81
  • Expedia.com
    $92
1.9 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $165
  • Hotels.com
    $180
0.0 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
External Hero
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $131
  • Agoda.com
    $113
  • Hotels.com
    $123
0.7 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $171
  • Agoda.com
    $158
  • Priceline
    $186
3.2 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $125
  • ibis
    $125
  • Hotels.com
    $125
0.5 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Deluxe King Harbour View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $179
  • Algotels
    $167
  • Hotel Website
    $179
0.4 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
JCHGC Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $149
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $149
0.6 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $233
  • Lol.travel
    $215
  • Hotels.com
    $233
6.2 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
478
139
46
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
478
139
46
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bose sound system stunning hotel luxury hotel rain shower botanical gardens lambton quay hotel restaurant mini bar comfortable beds valet parking across the road the club lounge cable car jardin cemetery accor parliament
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2021

Sofitel Wellington has to be my favourite place to stay in New Zealand. The accommodation is superb but honestly it is the staff that make this my #1 place to go. From the moment you arrive until the time you leave you are treated as a VIP.

Date of stay: October 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Tumatauenga74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raymond Faulkner, General Manager at Sofitel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2021

Bonjour Kia ora , Merci Tumetauenga74, Thank you, Nga mihi for your kind words and maanaki, support for our hotel and our rōpū, our team. Your time and money spent with us, and your words of encouragement will help us through these challenging times. Im so grateful you would take the time to celebrate our people. Absolutely, they are the heart and soul of who we are. Kia hauora, Be well, from our whole team at Sofitel Wellington, Raymond Faulkner, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2021

I booked the Sofitel through a travel agent, and when I checked in, I discovered the travel agent had mistakenly cancelled my reservation. Winin, on reception, was absolutely fantastic. She rectified everything straight away, and she was a standout staff member throughout my stay.

My luxury club room was spacious and bright, with the most comfortable bed and pillows I have experienced anywhere.

The food and drinks served in the evening (plus the afternoon tea) were wonderful. In the morning, I had a 5-star breakfast in the restaurant.

Everything about my stay was perfect, but what really makes the Sofitel Wellington stand out are the staff. Everyone is super friendly and helpful, and they went out of their way to ensure I had the best possible stay.

I can’t wait to return :)

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 284elizabethw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raymond Faulkner, General Manager at Sofitel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2021

Bonjour Kia ora 284elizabethw , Thank you, merci, nga mihi for your valued and constructive feedback. We appreciate the personal recognition of Winin, one of our heartist stars (we call our people heartists, because the have heart they bring to the art of hotels) who resolved your checkin. Im also really happy to see such glowing comments around the hardware of the hotel, now in its 5th year but aging and holding up well. The design of the rooms remains elegant and contemporary luxury. Your feedback in our F&B service is valuable for other potential stayers. But mostly and as always, I love to hear others celebrate our people. I see and know their success, and I readily celebrate it with our guests when they do too. Kia hauora, Be well, and from us all at Sofitel Wellington, Live the French way. Merci, a plus tard, see you soon. Raymond Faulkner, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2021

Fabulous hotel with a superb restaurant. I was lucky enough to be in the prestige suite which has a wonderful bathroom with a soaking tub/bath. The room is large with separate lounge / bedroom / balcony with good views of wellington harbour. Staff are friendly, professional and welcoming.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank adele-belalulusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raymond Faulkner, General Manager at Sofitel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2021

Bonjour Kia Ora adele-belalulusmum , thank you nga mihi, merci for providing this feedback and direction for other guests who have a choice of hotels. It gives us a platform to be recognized for the commitment we have made to our brand promise, Live the French way, modern luxury, chich design, authentic and lively F&B, Indulgent Wellness and Art and Culture. Your kind words about our Prestige Suite allows others the chance to understand the benefits of this upgrade, and of course Im really grateful and will share your kind words about our people. Stay well, travel well, Raymond Faulkner, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2021

We were delighted to be welcomed back like old friends after about a month away. The staff were all familiar and they remembered us by name - a very special feeling. The hotel was in sparkling form after a super spring clean over lockdown.

Date of stay: September 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jules L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raymond Faulkner, General Manager at Sofitel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Bonjour Kia ora Jules, looking forward to seeing you return today. You continue to be a magnifique support of our hotel, and most importantly our people, talking to them and remembering their story each time you come back. As always, merci Madam. Raymond Faulkner, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2021

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raymond Faulkner, General Manager at Sofitel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2021

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews