We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$260
Sofitel
$260
Priceline
$260
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Tom Q
Auckland, New Zealand

Nice hotel with excellent guest room, foods and gym facilities

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Apr 2021via mobile
The hotel has large guest rooms in a quiet environment but one block away from the Parliament House, the ground floor has a wonderful restaurant, provides excellent foods. The basement has gym facilities for guests.
Date of stay: April 2021
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Agoda.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $196
0.0 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Deluxe King Harbour View
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $174
  • StayForLong
    $168
  • Hotels.com
    $179
0.4 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$137
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Vio.com
    $109
  • Hotels.com
    $123
0.7 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Exterior view
Booking.com
$143
  • Novotel
    $143
  • ZenHotels.com
    $135
  • Priceline
    $143
0.5 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Vio.com
$210
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $152
  • Trip.com
1.8 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$147
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $148
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $190
1.7 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$141
  • Priceline
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
    $170
1.5 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
travelodge wellington hotel guest king room
Booking.com
$149
Fully refundable
  • Travelodge.com.au
    $146
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $149
0.7 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
$125
  • ibis
    $125
  • ZenHotels.com
    $119
  • Priceline
    $125
0.5 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$125
  • Priceline
    $76
  • Vio.com
    $40
  • Expedia.com
    $142
1.1 km from Sofitel Wellington Hotel
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
474
138
46
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
474
138
46
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bose sound system stunning hotel luxury hotel rain shower botanical gardens lambton quay hotel restaurant mini bar comfortable beds valet parking across the road the club lounge cable car jardin cemetery accor parliament
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2021

Stayed during the Anzac long weekend. All stages of the stay we had warm and friendly staff. From checkin to the club room and the dinning room, good level of service and professional. Room was nice and adequate with nice mountain views. Bed was soft and comfortable. Phone calls for room amenities were taken care quick and efficient. We had different rooms booked and the transfer of rooms during our stay was seamless, as luggage was delivered straight to the new room without a hassle. But what it let down was the dinning experience at breakfast, staff was friendly and approachable, but the delivery of food was slow. Took us nearly an hour to have the hot food delivered. We had a booked tour and have to really rush and push the attendant for food. We have ourselves 1.5 hour for breakfast and we just made it on time. When we were leaving, the long queue for breakfast was right into the lobby area. Doesn’t look good for Sofitel. Overall, a good stay but with a last minute hiccup that could be avoided.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KevinS1735
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2021

Staff were very pleasant at all times. We were on the 8th level in what was a Club Room. It appears Club Rooms may be scattered throughout the hotel. Having experienced club rooms in sister hotels and in other branded chains the room we were allocated was at the lower end of the scale. It was a little roomier than a standard hotel room. Bathroom amenities were lovely. There was no bath in this room which was both a surprise and a real disappointment. The afternoon club lounge drinks and nibbles were very nice. Breakfast was about as good as it gets.
The Club Lounge is on the ground level.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank kiwitripaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2021

Mulfunction toilet in the room and dirty cups at Sofitel club lounge have been a disappointment for a 5 star reputable hotel. Limited choice of finger food and snacks at club lounge. Lack of expected facilities for a 5 star hotel as only gym available on site. Not a recommended venue for special occasions celebration. However, Excellent location and breakfast.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Geoy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2021

Very nice hotel that is central to downtown with shops and water front in walking distance. The service was excellent and the room was presented perfectly, as you expect from a 5 star hotel. The bar had a good range of nice quality beers and wine.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank blairfamily404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2021

We stayed in a King Room at the Sofitel Wellington and the room itself was lovely, great bed and linen and Balmain amenities in the bathroom. The reception and bar area were also nicely furnished. What really lets the hotel down is the inconsistent levels of service.

The man who handled my check-in was rude and aloof, he couldn’t find my reservation and telling me we must have booked it wrong, only to discover my first name had been inputted as my surname which came across as my fault. In my experience of most hotels, they take your ID so they can discretely look you up in their system rather than having you have to repeatedly tell them your name, he did not do this. The bar staff were great, we ordered champagne and they were really engaging with us.

The lowlight of our stay was breakfast the next day, the breakfast team are completely under-staffed with only 2 waiters and 2 chefs, the waiters are running around like headless chickens and there just seemed to be no order to the service or manager to give direction. Given it was Easter Weekend you would have thought they would have been better prepared for a busy service. We were told as they seated us the hot food will take time as there were a lot of orders, which we said was fine. Anyway, 1.5hrs later we still had not received our cooked breakfast, the continental buffet was not being replenished, and people that came in after us were now receiving their food so we upped and left. They either need to hire more people for the breakfast service or switch to a hot buffet as the current situation is not working and is not 5 star by any stretch of the imagination and I can’t imagine it would be up to Sofitel service standards. They wiped the breakfast charge at check out and the lady who checked us out was very apologetic and professional.

Overall the room and decor of the hotel were 5 star but the service was lacking and more like a 3 star hotel.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Smashy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews