We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jeeva David
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

Great Location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 May 2024
Superb Location, right in the heart of the city in Wellington - surronded with the best the city has to offer !!!

Great hospitality , good breakfast and clean rooms.

Front offcice were very polite and accomodating of personal requirements.

10/10 stars for this IHG property.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: They do offer rooms with windows that can open if you have any allergic condition
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear JeevaDavid,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.
The team and I thank you for choosing to stay with us and delighted to read you enjoyed your time! We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will share your experience with the front office and restaurant teams to show they helped make your stay special.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
InterContinental Management Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$200
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
$144
  • Booking.com
  • Novotel
    $143
  • Priceline
0.2 km from InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Exterior view
$125
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
External Hero
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $137
  • Priceline
0.2 km from InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Guest room bath
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $223
  • Hotels.com
0.6 km from InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
JCHGC Exterior
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe King Harbour View
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $165
  • Priceline
0.4 km from InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Sojourn Apartment Hotel - Ghuznee  Building Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $170
1.0 km from InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $125
  • Algotels
1.2 km from InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $192
  • Algotels
5.6 km from InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (2,111)
Filter reviews
2,111 results
Traveller rating
1,166
612
221
71
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,166
612
221
71
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge chameleon restaurant booked a club room high tea concierge staff an upgrade cable car new zealand harbour view valet parking te papa museum lambton quay gym nz capital cbd cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2,111 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Amenities are severely lacking, pool closed and option was 20 minutes away, no closed captioning for one of our group with severe hearing loss, no microwave or ability to heat leftovers...sheesh! Our room was clean and acceptable and on the plus side, the buffet breakfast was very good. Location was convenient for the things we wanted to do.

Room tip: Corner room for windows
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonymous855
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Dear Anonymous855,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased you chose to stay with us during your visit to Wellington and are delighted to see you enjoyed the hotel location and breakfast. However, we do apologise that your stay did not meet all your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our management team so we can continue to improve our services.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
InterContinental Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2024

Lovely room, comfy bed and nice bathroom. Very good breakfast.
The only downside was that there were 20 of us booked for dinner at 7.00pm. The dining room was fairly busy, and I got the impression that the wait staff were more interested in serving drinks than attending to dinner. We sat down at 7.00pm, and by 8.30pm we still had not seen our dessert. By this time our appetite had disappeared and we decided that the wait was not acceptable and left the dining room.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiandKevGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2024

Dear DiandKevGoldCoast,

Thank you for your feedback.
The team appreciate you staying with us during your recent visit to Wellington and taking the time to share your experience. We are very happy to see you enjoyed your room and breakfast, however do apologise the restaurant dinner service did not meet your expectations. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us, we use comments such as yours to continuously improve our guest experience.

We hope you will visit us again soon

Best regards,
InterContinental Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2024 via mobile

What an absolutely fabulous hotel.
Especially the concierges who were so knowledgeable/helpful and a credit to your hotel.
The gym was well equipped too.
The only down side was the pool was being updated and we didn’t make it to the alternative site.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rabsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2024

Dear Rabsta,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.
The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us recently and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in. We value your feedback and will ensure our concierge team know they made your stay special.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
InterContinental Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024

This is one of the better hotels in Wellington but that is not saying much about the quality of hotels in this city. My IHG Diamond Ambassador status was recognised. I was grateful for the upgrade from a junior suite to a junior suite with a harbour view. The Club Lounge was very good indeed. Food and service in the Lounge was excellent. It is the jewel in the (ageing) crown of the hotel. The staff in the Lounge deserve high commendation. So too do the cleaning staff deserve commendation for swift and efficient service. However, the rooms are tired and in urgent need of renovation. The shower water flow was pitiful; there are no slippers in the room--something one should expect in four star PLUS hotels. The furniture in the suite was showing its age. I almost fell over backwards sitting in one of the broken desk chairs!

Overall, this is an average hotel in the IHG stable. As I have noted in previous reviews of IHG hotels in Oceania and the USA, the franchise model used to operate IHG is NOT working to ensure consistent quality across the IHG chain. On the other hand the Kimpton group which is also part of IHG is delivering quality. I wonder if Kimpton is based on the franchise model? It wouldn't surprise me if it was not. In due course, I'll try the new Intercontinental Hotel in Auckland and see how that fares.

Room tip: Get a Club Lounge access room
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear Voyage59513,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are pleased you chose to stay with us during your visit to Wellington and are delighted to see you enjoyed the service and Club InterContinental Lounge. However, we do apologise that your stay did not meet all your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our management team so we can continue to improve our services.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
InterContinental Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024

We spent a couple of nights here and everything was great. We had a spacious room with views over the harbour and the hotel is perfectly situated for exploring. The breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice. We didn't have any other meals there but we did have a nice glass of wine in the bar The concierge could not have been more helpful.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Dear eds931,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.
The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us recently and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm regards,
InterContinental Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews