We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CasaCorbara007
Val d'Isère, France

Great Historic Wellington hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Feb 2024
I received a lovely friendly welcome from Fiona who went out of her way to look after me.
The hotel is brilliantly situated for central Wellington and the waterfront.
The room (Jeffries) was very big the bathroom had a good bath and the biggest hotel shower I’ve ever seen.
Very clean too. I’ll be back …
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Wellington is easy to get to know by foot but the bus, train and ferry services are great and...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Edwards, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 26 Feb 2024
Thank you for your wonderful review, glad you had a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$195
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
External Hero
$127
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Exterior view
$126
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ibis
    $125
0.3 km from Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Guest room bath
$287
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Sofitel
    $287
0.3 km from Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
JCHGC Exterior
$149
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$139
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $166
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Sojourn Apartment Hotel - Ghuznee  Building Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $161
  • Expedia.com
    $180
1.3 km from Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Deluxe King Harbour View
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $168
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    $218
  • Algotels
5.9 km from Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
210
145
63
25
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
210
145
63
25
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews claw foot bath charming hotel olde world charm heritage building large room bed was very comfortable lambton quay stayed nights central wellington lift masons cbd waterfront tub receptionist armchairs renovation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2023

Beautiful historic building, in the heart of the financial district of Wellington. The unique character of the antique lift, as well as the beautiful grand staircase made for a memorable stay. Anna was a lovely host, and we look forward to staying again.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 October 2023

What an absolutely delightful experience. I definitely hope to stay there again when I'm next in the capital, preferably next time with my husband. It was such a treat to use a vintage elevator, and the room was extremely comfortable and attractive. But the best thing about the Wellesley? The staff! They were, without exception, friendly, chatty, and welcoming.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emmajharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2023

If you want a different stay than the sterile big box hotel chains this is the place! It has that old world charm and style that makes you feel welcomed and at home with a touch of style and class.
From the awesome helpful welcome at reception to getting in the old style lift, to finding a quiet room full of charm was great.
Plus the added bonus of being upgraded really made my stay!
This will definitely be the place I book next time back in Wellington.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cust4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2023

The 1920/30s architecture and original interiors are awesome. So great that the building has been preserved as well as it has been (has it been earthquake strengthened yet? I think the deadline is 2025?). The room was clean and well appointed (great minibar), good working desk, lighting, tea table, bathroom, etc. The TV channel options were disappointing but the wifi quality was very good. The whole place has a quaint feeling given the history and grander of the place and colourful people who stayed there. A few nice places to eat close by but it's the quiet end of town, so not the greatest selection (La Saigon is really good). The staff were friendly and helpful. It's a hidden gem that deserves a higher profile and I'd be interested in investing in it if the opportunity ever came up. Double/triple glazed windows would be the first thing I spent money on.

Room tip: Car-parking wardens patrol until 8pm 7 days! The car parking building next-door is $25 for 24hrs.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mcaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Edwards, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Hello Mr. Caddie, Thank you for taking the time to review our Heritage Status Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes we find most people prefer to watch their own streaming services. Thank you for the Saigon review, I will pass that on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2023

A fantastic great value, excellent Hotel in the heart of Wellington, I stay in Hotels all over the world and was impressed.
Being right in the heart of Wellington you have no end of dinning options for dinner and breakfast.
The rooms and bathrooms are a lot bigger than standard.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Regan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stephen Edwards, General Manager at Wellesley Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2023

Thank you Regan for your glowing review. Wonderful to hear we stack up against the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews