We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
125
101
42
40
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
101
42
40
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking permit host john new zealand city centre tea coffee double bed interislander ferry stayed here for two nights courtenay place te papa guesthouse accommodation heater street nz furnishings picton
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

My sisters and I stayed here for two nights in a huge bright room on the ground level. Although not a 5 star hotel, the room was bright and comfortable and warm. Towels were changed daily. Extra Teabags or milk is available from the kitchen at any time.
Breakfast, while simple was more than adequate and served in a bright dining room.
John is certainly a character and on first meeting does appear to be a little gruff as he gives information about the rules. We had read other reviews so knew what to expect so went with an open mind and a willingness to recognise that it takes all types to make up the world. We were pleasantly surprised to find that our politeness was reciprocated as John realised we appreciated the work he has put into his home and the pride he has. People are so quick to judge anyone who is a little different.
If you want a sanitised hotel room with no human contact then this is not the place for you.
We walked into the city easily and also caught the bus a few times. All very easy.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank gailandalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

It's not a fancy hotel, but I enjoyed the personal touch of B&B service. The host is very helpful to give you advice. The decor has a touch of old charm.
Very conveniently located at the fringe of Wellington CBD, walking distance to Te Papa Museum, waterfront, Courtenay Place and Cuba Street, after a day of activities I came back to this guesthouse felt calm and rest well in my spacious single room with a double bed. Next day morning, breakfast in the bright room overlooking the Wellington city, with a full range of cereals and hot eggs on toast, I started another exciting day of exploration.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jumpursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

First of all the owner is very friendly and welcoming. We stayed there for 5 weeks and did not miss anything. There was everything available for our convinience. A very warm and comfortable place, a home away frim home.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SachitaT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Warm and cozy, private bathroom was clean, John was welcoming and friendly. Would recommend to anyone traveling to Wellington. Breakfast is served early, which helps when on a business trip. Will book again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Carlosd5951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This guy is a walking disaster - crude, rude and undesirable. Thinking the place had charm ... it looked like something out of Coronation Street. The place is musty and hugely uninviting - esp the downstairs 'dungeon'. He is doing Wellington a huge disservice. DO NOT stay at this dump.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
6  Thank IPKnightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews