We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
78
243
165
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
243
165
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te papa michael fowler centre great location wakefield st shower curtain central location the hotel is clean across the road manners street breakfast was included cuba st bed was comfortable would stay here again inner city courtney place short stay lambton quay
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Adequate accommodation, adequate staff service and adequate food. Nothing wrong but nothing memorable.
Weird lightning in room, noisy extraction fan in tiny cobbled together bathroom with two trip hazards.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank susanpG7216UO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, Sales Coordinator at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry we were not the style of hotel you were looking for.

Kind Regards, Anna Harrison - Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is centrally located near the Waterfront, the Te Papa museum, shops and restaurants.
The rooms are basic but clean. If have noisy people next to your room, uou are unlucky as the walls are thin and you can hesr about everything what's going on in the room next to you.
Staff is friendly, well trained and helpful.
Having to pay a surcharge for the use of a creditcard is not of this time anymore folks. Confronting your guests with a little surprise like that when checking out is not a good sign of hospitality nowadays.
There is limited parking. It costs 25 dollar a day.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
Thank rvdoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your positive feedback about the hotel location, cleanliness and staff.

Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Central to ever thing.. Clean and tidy. Good service.... Be warned bar does not serve drinks at 3am in the morning... But maybe not a bad think....walking distance to everything you need... Would recommend for a reasonably priced hotel... Would stay here again

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank carol041165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thanks for your comments, it's great to hear the girls had a fun trip to Wellington and you enjoyed your stay at West Plaza Hotel.

Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

A pleasant hotel in a perfect spot right in the heart of the city. We were able to walk to Te Papa, the art galleries, the TSB Stadium for WOW, Cuba Street, Courtney Place, cable car etc. We caught the Airport shuttle from the airport ($12 or free with Super Gold Card) to Manners Street just around the corner.
The hotel decor is a bit ordinary and the bar didn’t look very inviting, (in fact we were going to have a drink but it felt a bit chilly and lacked a bit of ambience so we went elsewhere).
However all the staff are super friendly and helpful, nothing was a bother. Our room was very clean, the beds very comfortable; we were happy. No fridge in the room, (you could ring for milk although we didn’t bother).
We would most certainly return, if only for the fabulous location.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thanks for your feedback, we appreciate your comments about the ambiance in the bar, this feedback helps us to make improvements. For future reference all guest rooms have a fridge located in the cupboard under the desk. Thanks again for leaving your review.

Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

West Plaza report card

Location Fantastic right in the CBD
Reception Fantastic friendly and helpful staff
Room Very clean and comfortable bed
TV limited channels but nice big screen
Shower OK but needs a bit more power and a higher shower head
Rood rate very good price for room size and location

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Thanks for your comments, it's good to hear you enjoyed your stay with West Plaza Hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you again.

Regards, Julie Wilcock - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews