We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$156
Priceline
$162
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
$144
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jibby9
Lakes Entrance, Australia

Great hotel, staff friendliness a bit hit & miss, parking terrible.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Oct 2023via mobile
Arrived with our car only to be told that we had to park across the street behind the hotel in designated parking bays only to be slugged another $31 a day on top of our accommodation. No-one told us about that hidden little expense. The room was absolutely beautiful and so comfy & quiet. We were lucky we got a room at the back of the building because we saw no-one and heard little. Reception is on Level 6 and you have to get a lift down to ground level. Reception staff were a bit on the unfriendly side (apart from a sweet Scottish lass from Aberdeen). The location is one block away from Queens Harbour, and two shop fronts from the Wellington Cable Car.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, Guest Services / Front Office at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review
Responded 3 Nov 2023
Hi Jibby9,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're pleased to hear that you found our rooms beautiful, comfortable, and quiet. We're also grateful for your kind words about our staff member. Your comments help us enhance our services.

However, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced regarding parking. Wellington CBD parking can be a little expensive, and it's an additional service that comes with an extra cost.

We appreciate your feedback regarding communication. To ensure our guests have a seamless experience, we advise of parking options and charge, when we are made aware by our guests that they are traveling by car. We're committed to improving our services and guest experiences, and your comments help us in this endeavor.

On the other hand, delighted to know you enjoyed the central location of our hotel, and hope you had a great time exploring the nearby attractions. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Rajeev Dahiya
Front Office Manager
CityLife Wellington
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $178
  • Vio.com
    $159
  • Expedia.com
    $199
0.6 km from CityLife Wellington
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$137
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $123
  • Vio.com
    $110
  • Priceline
    $149
0.1 km from CityLife Wellington
Guest room bath
Sofitel
$260
  • Booking.com
    $260
  • Priceline
    $260
  • Vio.com
    $260
0.6 km from CityLife Wellington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe King Harbour View
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $174
  • StayForLong
    $168
  • Expedia.com
    $179
0.5 km from CityLife Wellington
Free Wifi
Pool
travelodge wellington hotel guest king room
Travelodge.com.au
$146
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $149
  • Priceline
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $149
0.1 km from CityLife Wellington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
$143
  • Novotel
    $143
  • ZenHotels.com
    $134
  • Priceline
    $143
0.1 km from CityLife Wellington
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
$140
  • Priceline
    $152
  • Hotels.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $243
1.2 km from CityLife Wellington
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$128
  • Priceline
    $79
  • Vio.com
    $46
  • Expedia.com
    $147
0.6 km from CityLife Wellington
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
Booking.com
$125
  • ibis
    $125
  • ZenHotels.com
    $118
  • Priceline
    $125
0.2 km from CityLife Wellington
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
1,234 results
Traveller rating
523
501
146
48
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
523
501
146
48
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city life cable car lambton quay directors suite great location two bedroom apartment full kitchen gilmer terrace washing machine and dryer central location kitchen facilities an upgrade great room te papa street noise staff were friendly and helpful an easy walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,234 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2023

I stayed with my family and business before. It’s just perfect. 5 star service with warm welcoming to check in, to cleanliness and departure. They make feel like home away from home that you don’t always get when you stay in a hotel. Everything is close by, spacious, quiet. Electric car charging stations and recycling options in the rooms are also great. Just top notch service from everyone. Thank you CityLife. We will be back.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, Guest Services / Front Office at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Kia ora U7023GKmattl,

Wow, reading your feedback truly warmed our hearts! It's an absolute pleasure to know that we've managed to create a 'home away from home' experience for you. The comfort and satisfaction of our guests are our top priorities. Your kind words about our staff and services mean the world to us. And yes, we're proud to offer eco-friendly amenities to make our guests' stay more sustainable.

Thank you so much for choosing The CityLife, and for taking the time to share your experience. We're eagerly looking forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Kind regards,

Rajeev Dahiya
Front Office Manager
CityLife Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2023

We had the two bed apartment and it was very spacious clean and every want catered to. Heating Kitchen laundry ...excellent. Also middle of CBD so made travelling around easy. Staff were very helpful and polite. Bus almost at the door. The one negative was that there was no lift to our floor hence two flights of stairs which was a nuisance. However the staff took our bags up in service lift. Would return

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Josheta
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, Guest Services / Front Office at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2023

Hi Josheta,

Thank you for the perfect score and encouraging words. I am delighted to hear that you liked all the amenities, hotel location and overall, had a wonderful stay with us. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. It also helps us to understand our guests needs and to better deliver exceptional service, so that everyone is Someone Special staying Somewhere Special.

We have carefully noted your feedback with regards to the stairs and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. Our building layout does not allow guest lifts to go to level 7 unfortunately. However, I feel proud that our team looked after you well on your stay and assisted with the luggage through service lift. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,
Rajeev Dahiya
Front Office Manager
CityLife Hotel, Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2023 via mobile

When booking this hotel, I had high expectations but found things not quite as good as expected. Upon checking in very late / early hours of the morning, it was discovered that the TV was not working. After calling down to the front desk and someone coming up to check, we couldn’t find what the problem was. We said we’d check it out in the morning and were offered a change of room if need be. Upon checking the next morning, it was found that the aerial cable was unplugged. Why it was unplugged we don’t know. The next thing was the fridge. It was sitting inside a shelf which had a protruding screw in the floor of the shelf in front of the fridge door which prevented the fridge door opening. We had to lift the fridge up to get the door high above the protruding screw to open it. Housekeeping was also bizarre. All they did was collect the used towels and throw new ones on the bathroom sink. Bed was not made up and other things (like toilet paper) were not replenished. I have never come across housekeeping like this. There was also little storage space in the way of draws to put clothes. I also found the bed not very comfortable and felt I was rolling into the middle on an angle. I think the only thing going for this hotel is the location which is right in the middle of Lambton Quay. However vehicle access is behind the property in Gilmer St.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank sharketteno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, Guest Services / Front Office at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2023

Kia ora Sharketteno1,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the CityLife Hotel, Wellington. I am sorry that your experience with housekeeping and room amenities did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. I can assure you that this is not our regular level of service, and I will more than certain to share your experience with the housekeeping manager and maintenance team to ensure it does not happen again. At CityLife, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore, your feedback is very important to us and I apologize we fell short on your stay with us.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and I do hope you consider us for any future stays in Wellington. We would be more than happy to ensure you next stay checks all the boxes.


Kind regards,
Rajeev Dahiya
Front Office Manager
CityLife Hotel Wellington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2023 via mobile

Located in the CBD it is a great place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. This is our first time in NZ so it took us a while for us to figure out that you have to leave your room card in a slot near the door for the lights, etc to work. The in-room laundry allowed us to travel light. Arriving by car is a bit awkward and parking is off-sight.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DetDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, Guest Services / Front Office at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2023

Kia ora DetDuke,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the CityLife Wellington.

It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback as well as feedback that we can draw from, to improve our services for the future. I understand that the parking can sometimes feel uncomfortable with big vehicles. Apologies for the inconvenience caused due to this.
I want to thank you again for the perfect score. Feel proud that our friendly team looked after you well on your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future at The CityLife Hotel, Wellington.

Nga mihi,

Rajeev Dahiya

Front Office Manager

CityLife Hotel Wellington

Emai: rajeevD@heritagehotels.co.nz


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2023

I have taken a while to write this because I lost the paper but now found it. I LOVED this hotel! We were diverted to Wellington due to Auckland floods and the experience was just a breeze. I would like to thank the two night girls Vaifoa and Oceana who made the check in none stressful even though they had a lot of people in the lobby but didn’t let the pressure show. Had an amazing housekeeper Jeena who was quick and lovely and made the room beautiful. My family and I appreciated all the hard work everyone put in especially for our difficult trip. Will recommend this hotel to everyone I know and will definitely be back. Thank you city life.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajeev Dahiya, Guest Services / Front Office at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2023

Hi CarolrJ5864ZI,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the CityLife Wellington. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are very grateful for your kind words. Foa, Oceana and Jeena would be extremely happy to read what you have wrote. you have reaffirmed the hard work we put in every day.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we trust your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kind regards,

Rajeev Dahiya

Front Office Manager

CityLife Wellington

Email: RajeevD@heritagehotels.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews