We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa
from US$14.33
More Info
from US$10.75
More Info
from US$15.29
More Info
from US$14.33
More Info
Reviews (14,062)
Filter reviews
14,062 results
Traveller rating
10,842
2,572
524
78
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
10,842
2,572
524
78
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te papa new zealand earthquake house anzac exhibition natural history larger than life all ages free entry nz history interactive displays few hours rainy day world class weta workshop world war on display great place to visit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
765 - 770 of 14,062 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2019 via mobile

As a Brit visiting NZ I was pleased to drop in and see some of this beautiful country's history.
The museum is pretty standard by all accounts. Exhibits are interesting with some innovative ways to display information.

The motherload has to be the Gallipoli exhibition.
No spoilers, just go.
This is a magnificent display and portrays the sheer nightmare that all involved suffered.
Stunning exhibition.
Really good to see children in attendance. We should never forget and we rely on our kids to ensure nothing like this ever happens again.
Brilliant
A must see!!!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank K7799TSmattc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2019 via mobile

Nice change in the nature area. Good info on wildlife - better even than before. New information on volcanoes but seemed less on earthquakes? Silly demo on tsunami as they just show a wave ( which is not what a tsunami is)
But fabulous everywhere else - very Interactive.
The Māori section is beautiful but they could do more? Have something interactive going on or someone to show you around and explain stuff- preferably Māori.
But a beautiful area nevertheless.
Great place even when the weather is good - it’s a must see!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank kiwibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2019

Haven't been to Te Papa for a few years and how it is changed. There are lots of new cool electronic displays and now make it so informative but in a fun way. If you are in Wellington on a cold or wet day head here.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank PhillipB294
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2019 via mobile

We visited Te Papa several times in the 3 days we were in Wellington. There was so much to see and explore. We all learnt so much from each of the exhibitions. The staff were great and the free cost check was very helpful! Being school holidays, there was a lot of offer for children. We watched two live shows which were quite entertaining for our daughter. Our two year old keeps asking if we can return! I would highly recommend visiting.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank aus-vick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2019 via mobile

School holidays and the kids are everywhere and appear to be enjoying so many activities on offer.
We to enjoyed another visit. New exhibits to see old ones to reconnect with. There is something here for everyone.
But excuse me for asking but has Te Papa finally caught up with what the populance really wants a museum that isn’t an art gallery.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank leslee2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews