We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
argy10
Hope, United Kingdom

Nice hotel. Convenient. Worried about parking but turned out ok - just.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jun 2024
2 night stay as part of NZ tour. I'm not keen on cities, especially driving in them but our Sat Nav found the hotel no problem and took us straight into the car park next door. I had read the hotels own parking was limited and was valet service, so decided not to risk it as we needed an early start when we left to catch ferry. The car park was multi storey, going downwards. Most spaces were taken or reserved but we got one of the last spaces one floor from the bottom (think it was floor M, bottom was N). We left the car there until we left for the port. The cost was £24 using a code from the hotel to get a reduced price. I think that was for 48 hours, so reasonable. I paid online so there would be no delays when leaving.
The hotel room was nice with everything we needed. Reception staff friendly. Everything was walkable - the port, museum, restaurants etc. But note that Wellington is very hilly. The Museum was good, but wish we hadn't wasted time on the arty stuff on the top floors and had gone straight to the Gallipoli exhibition. The cable car train to the botanical gardens was good. The gardens were nice but very hilly.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Very convenient for port. Walk it first to make sure you know where to go.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $196
  • Agoda.com
    $165
  • StayForLong
0.5 km from Novotel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
External Hero
$131
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    $118
  • Agoda.com
    $113
  • StayForLong
0.2 km from Novotel Wellington Hotel
Reception Lady Naumi Naumi Studio Hotel Wellington
$198
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $197
  • Trip.com
    $217
1.3 km from Novotel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$171
  • Expedia.com
    $186
  • Agoda.com
    $159
  • Priceline
    $186
2.7 km from Novotel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Exterior view
$125
  • ibis
    $125
  • Expedia.com
    $125
  • StayForLong
    $126
0.2 km from Novotel Wellington Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Sojourn Apartment Hotel - Ghuznee  Building Exterior
$149
  • Official Site
    $161
  • Expedia.com
    $180
  • Priceline
    $162
1.0 km from Novotel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Guest room bath
$287
  • Sofitel
    $287
  • Expedia.com
    $287
  • Vio.com
    $287
0.5 km from Novotel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe King Harbour View
$203
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    $203
  • Algotels
    $186
  • Expedia.com
    $203
0.5 km from Novotel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$138
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $138
  • Trip.com
    $152
1.3 km from Novotel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$233
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $233
  • StayForLong
    $220
  • Hotel Website
    $233
5.8 km from Novotel Wellington Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wellington
Reviews (2,464)
Filter reviews
2,464 results
Traveller rating
779
1,168
408
74
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
779
1,168
408
74
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lambton quay direct access good size buffet breakfast per day three nights convenient location car park te papa lift accor harbour nz capital curtains motorway parliament
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,464 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2024

Hotel room was lovely, the front desk staff friendly, but the housekeeping staff rude, I said good morning to them three times and they ignored me. I don’t think it was worth the money, the restaurant has seen better days, and the lift to lambton key is in a dire state. Won’t be going again

Room tip: Don’t go lol
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 313beverleyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amit Paradkar, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We're pleased to hear that you found the hotel room comfortable and that the front desk staff provided friendly service. However, we're truly sorry to learn about the disappointing aspects of your experience.

Your comments regarding the housekeeping staff's behavior, the condition of the restaurant, and the state of the lift to Lambton Key are concerning, and we apologize for any inconvenience or frustration these issues may have caused. Providing exceptional service and maintaining high standards throughout our hotel are priorities for us, and we regret that we fell short of meeting your expectations in these areas.

Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our management team for further review and improvement. We take all guest feedback seriously and use it as an opportunity to address areas of concern and enhance the overall guest experience.

We understand your decision not to return, but we sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with the excellent stay that you deserve.


Warm regards,

Leigh Frame
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2024

I'm a very loyal Platinum Accor member - and always enjoy many benefits at Accor hotels for paid subscription and loyalty - but Novotel Wellington gave no room upgrade, a really poor welcome gift compared to other Novotels, just 1 drink voucher instead of 2, and no complimentary barista coffee with breakfast. I'll be booking at one of the other Accor hotels next time I'm in Wellington.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank jwhom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2024

Our Prestigious guests (Dr Pulak Sahay & Dr Rajiv Khushu) and elderly People Have visited New Zealand in Feb 2024 - Mar 2024.
When they reach Novotel Wellington after a long journey from Rotorua Taking 6-8 hours found out that the hotel doesn't Have Porter Service for their Guests and charging as a 5 Star Hotel is not Acceptable At all.
Dr Sahay & Dr Khushu are Elderly People and had to carry their Luggage all they way to their Rooms After Paying a Decent amount of their hard earned Money.
Imagining this in the high season time doesn't Depict picture of any 5 star hotel Services anyhow.

Please raise your Standards to be on the list of the 5 stars.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Bolton_2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024 via mobile

If you book a room for multiple nights with free minibar and you don't use it alll each night. You will lose it and the greedy Novotel will win.

The front desk wasn't helpful at all, the safe wasn't working, TV wasn't bright and no miniature bathroom. Amenities for us to take home.

Rip off!

Room tip: Lambton Quay is shared by other users, including contractors
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank aspie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amit Paradkar, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2024

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We apologize for any inconvenience or disappointment you experienced during your time at our hotel.

We're sorry to hear about the issues you encountered with the minibar and the perceived lack of assistance from our front desk team. Our goal is to provide exceptional service to all our guests, and we regret that we fell short of meeting your expectations in this regard. Your feedback will be shared with our team to address any deficiencies in service and ensure that future guests receive the assistance and support they require.

We also apologize for the issues with the safe and TV brightness in your room. Our maintenance team will be notified to inspect and address these issues promptly to ensure that all amenities are functioning properly for our guests' comfort.

Regarding the amenities, we apologize if you found them lacking. We strive to provide a comfortable and enjoyable stay for all our guests, and we will review our offerings to ensure that they meet the expectations of our valued guests.

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us identify areas for improvement and enhance the overall guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more positive experience.


Warm regards,

Leigh Frame
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Stayed for three nights as part of our five week tour of New Zealand. The room on the third floor was comfortable and quiet. Room service came on a daily basis to top up the basics and do the necessary tasks required of housekeeping. The lifts operated well within the hotel but it was slightly inconvenient that the lift down to Lambton Quay closed at 7:30pm.

The one disappointing aspect of the hotel was the lobby area and bar which was small and not furnished to a comfortable standard, hence we did not use that area, choosing instead to drink elsewhere.

Room tip: Park in car park next door and obtain a code from the hotel on departure to obtain preferential rates.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amit Paradkar, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wellington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2024

Dear John,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your tour of New Zealand and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable and quiet three-night stay in your room on the third floor. It's great to know that our housekeeping team ensured that your room was well-taken-care-of during your stay, and that the lifts operated efficiently within the hotel.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the early closure of the lift down to Lambton Quay at 7:30pm. Your feedback regarding the lobby area and bar is also noted, and we regret that it did not meet your expectations. We will take your comments into consideration as we strive to improve our facilities and services for our guests.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Leigh Frame
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews