We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,119)
Filter reviews
2,119 results
Traveller rating
975
736
256
100
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
975
736
256
100
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews museum hotel hippopotamus restaurant te papa great art art collection huge bath apartment room espresso machine cool hotel rain shower public areas harbour view new zealand national museum mini bar washer dryer courtney place
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 2,119 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Starting with the best location so close to the waterfront, staying at the QT Museum is something like walking into Aladdin's cave. It's so very plain on the outside...but inside it contains a multitude of art works to entertain every visitor. The rooms a well appointed, the views are ordinary (dull) unless you have a harbour view. It's not cheap, but it's worth it. Simply cross the street to the magnificent Museum of New Zealand - that will keep you entertained for a day, or take a stroll along the Wellington harbour foreshore. There's a major supermarket around the corner, plus retail stores and eateries galore just over a block. Car parking may be a concern as it's metered all around Wellington but the hotel valets will stow your car overnight for a fee. Give them ample warning of needing your car back as it is parked off-site.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trexor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Trexor5,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our harbour view rooms - stunning aren't they? We hope you made the most of our central location and what Wellington has to offer!

Until next time,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2017

The QT Sydney is one of my favorite hotels in the world. They think of everything and do it with class. I very much wanted to love this property in Wellington but was disappointed on many levels.
The artwork is incredible and very photogenic. It's when you start looking at details that the property shows neglect. The wallpaper in the hallways was torn, greasy or ripped in many places. The bar in the Hippopotamus is made of mirror mosaics. There is clear tape on the bar in many places where the glass is broken and the tape is to prevent you from cutting yourself. Although the QT in Sydney has amazing selections of movies and television stations, the Wellington QT does not offer much at all.
I have quite a few loyalty points from staying at the QT Sydney and booked two rooms in Wellington for two couples. Upon check in I asked for a bath tub and was told none were available. My travel companions had a bathtub and a much larger room. We checked in at the same time. What a way to make a repeat client happy, right?
It was warm in Wellington, by their standards, and the air con worked only in the wee hours of the morning.
I don't remember the room number but had the first room off the lobby of the restaurant on the third floor. There was a heavy door to block the sounds from the restaurant but that did nothing to block the sound of the lifts. It sounded like thunder every moment or so. The Room Service carts were also quite noisy going through the door and down the hallway.
The hotel looks great in photos, I took many, but do not be mislead; QT Wellington is not up to the QT standards that I thought would be offered.

Room tip: Visit the hotel but stay elsewhere
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gregntommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear gregntommy,

Thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us. We're sorry to hear QT Museum Wellington wasn't for you. For future, we can absolutely do our best to assist with guest requests such as a room bath, however it's more likely these are seen through if our team are advised in advance. We hope you give us another chance.

Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Cool hotel in a great location. Great interior decoration so it doesn't feel like you're in just another hotel which adds to the experience. We were also lucky enough to get an upgrade with having to ask which was great.

Room tip: Great location
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simon_nz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear simon_nz60,

Thank you for your lovely words on our hotel! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our quirky, QT experience.

Until next time,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

This is a delightful hotel in a perfect location. The room was large and comfortable, and the staff were lovely. The QT has a wonderful, wacky art collection, the highlight of which is a full-sized bull made entirely of corned-beef cans. If you open the flap on his side, you find a barbecue grill!

The hotel is directly opposite the splendid Te Papa National Museum and walking distance to the center of town.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank MEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear MEF,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and your kind words on our team. It's great to hear your enjoyed our eclectic art collection and discovered the barbecue in Micheal Tuffery's art.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

First, the location cant be beat. The hotel is a two minute walk to the Te Papa Museum. The art work in the lobby areas is fascinating and well worth a visit. The rooms are art deco and lovely to look at. However..... Actually living in the rooms for a couple of days reveals more design flaws that I can mention. To name a few: a tissue box from which it is impossible to withdraw just one tissue; no night light in the bathroom; a small clock with no illumination so impossible to tell the time during the night; no towel racks or robe hooks; a doorstop directly where one steps out of the shower--very painful to step on. These folks just don't buy into the "form follows function". But, one more positive: if you work at it long enough, it is possible to figure out how to use the 22nd century coffee maker--and it really does make fairly good coffee. This is a see-and-be-seen place. If you are in Wellington as a tourist as we were, I would stay elsewhere and just stop in here to see the art. One more negative--the bathroom vent looked like it had never been cleaned.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 375michaely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Michael Y,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your stay with us. We're sorry to hear of the inconveniences with certain aspects of your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the incredible art the hotel holds - why pick between art gallery and hotel lobby when you can have both?

Kind regards,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews