We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,080)
Filter reviews
2,080 results
Traveller rating
955
727
251
97
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
955
727
251
97
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews museum hotel hippopotamus restaurant te papa art collection great art huge bath across the road apartment room espresso machine cool hotel rain shower public areas new zealand harbour view national museum mini bar washer dryer
Filter
Updating list...
793 - 798 of 2,080 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2016

I use to stay here for work about 5 years ago where the rooms were getting tired. I had a couple of bad nights there then and said I wouldn't go back.

Now that it is under the Rydge's umbrella I thought I would go back. I ended up getting one of the rooms on level 3 which had world class decoration.

The food in the restaurant was also superb

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum_Art_Hotel_NZ, Public Relations Manager at QT Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2016

Hello Tim J,

Thanks for the glowing review on the hotel and the restaurant. We're glad to hear you have given us another chance! We're actually under the QT Hotels and Resorts umbrella, but Rydges are part of our wider family.

Look out for QT Museum Wellington over the next few months!

Best,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

The hotel is clean and tidy and the service is great but the restaurant makes this place perfect. If you want the perfect dining experience without having to drive home. then stay here and go to the the restaurant, even if its just once in your life, its the perfect dining experience for any food lover.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank janetmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum_Art_Hotel_NZ, Public Relations Manager at QT Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear janetmk1,

Thank you so much! Your kind words on our accommodation and Hippopotamus are greatly appreciated! We look forward to having you stay for many more memorable stays and dining experiences.

Until next time,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2016

We only stayed one night, but a lovely place to stay. We had an apartment on the 6th floor with great views over the water and every convenience for being self contained - including a washer/dryer - full oven - dishwasher....not that we used them. The apartment was nicely decorated, lots of space, big bed, awesome views.
It's not a cheap place to stay by any means, but you get what you pay for. We couldn't fault the service. Staff were very efficient, helpful and friendly. Off road parking very useful in busy Wellington. Situated almost opposite Te Papa. Handy for the bars and restaurants a short walk away in Courtney Place.
The Museum Art Hotel certainly lives up to it's name, with artworks hanging from every wall and statues/sculptures in the hallways. We spent a good half hour on the ground floor admiring the art.
Our second visit, but will not be our last.

Room Tip: Sixth floor apartments have great views and are very spacious with a full bathroom - deep full size bath and separate shower.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LizAndMalcHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum_Art_Hotel_NZ, Public Relations Manager at QT Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear LizAndMalcHN,

Thank you very much for the lovely review!! It is very much appreciated.
Our staff are always aiming to provide the best experience for our guests and it is wonderful for them to hear it enhanced your stay - I will be sure your kind words one.

We are proud that we have such a unique point of difference - Our artwork really makes the place come alive!

We can't wait to have you stay again (especially as we have some exciting refurbishments taking place)!

Until next time,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

We stayed here for a romantic night away. While the bathroom was a little tired the room was lovely. Bed was excellent and the room was well appointed.

Check in staff were very nice, although as locals we did not need much assistance. Car Parking was free from memory.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank buds_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Museum_Art_Hotel_NZ, Public Relations Manager at QT Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Dear buds_nz,

Thank you for your positive review! It's lovely to hear that we could help you and your significant other take some time out and spend some time focusing on each other!

Until your next romantic getaway,
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

The down point was to have no wifi in the rooms. It is not acceptable in a category as this one.

Besides that, the hotel is well located, just feel steps from the museum, and has very peculiar decoration.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordTonyHowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews