We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
43
146
154
61
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
146
154
61
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te papa great location oriental parade new world supermarket across the road oriental bay courtney place courtenay place city centre would stay again an easy walk harbour tepapa museum
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

For a short stay this is just fine and for the price. When I go for a short stay in a hotel I generally just want a bed to rest and good shower. This place is great. Bed was comfortable, tv worked, shower was great. The toilet was so powerful it was loud, but not an issue. The car park costs an extra $20 per day, but is worth having, only down side is the parking spaces are very tight. Great place if you just need a place to put your head down and spend most of your time exploring Wellington.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank MaxTugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Good morning Max

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding you stay with us. It's always a pleasure to ensure your stay is relaxed and enjoyable.
The team at the Bay Plaza Hotel look forward to welcoming you back to our central affordable location.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Hotel very outdated, needs complete overhaul. Toilet gurgled all night. Smoke alarm with flashing red light directly overhead of any sleeping position (apart form pillow over head). Grubby (could probably do with a good clean). Half used bottle of complimentary shampoo left in bathroom. Breakfast mediocre at best & choice limited. Glad only there for 1 night. Despite this, staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank yukonbob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We stayed here for two nights and the staff were fantastic.

Our room and bathroom were fine although a little dated. The hotel's central location means that the views are not fantastic from the lower floors but we had a good view of the bay.

We slept well and didn't find it too noisy.
The hotel is excellently located for the Te Papa museum which is a must see. There are many restaurants nearby and we ate at a wonderful Thai restaurant one night (can't remember its name!).
We caught a local bus to the Botanic Gardens cable car as I had hurt my ankle - otherwise about a 20 minute walk through town.

We were having problems with our Avis Car delivery to the hotel and the front desk staff were incredible, faxing and phoning the Avis office for us. The car was due to arrive at 10am and when it wasn't there by 10:10 they phoned Avis without us asking them too. They went out of their way to help us. Great customer service from them all.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BBTrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Good morning Trisha,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. The Team look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel for another memorable stay.
Regards
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Great location, but dated. Good price for rooms, but unfortunately no air con and beds were substandard. Also walls weren't sound proof so could hear everything in the adjacent rooms. Shower pressure was great and location the best points here.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Cam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My wife & I wanted a reasonably priced Hotel in the City centre. Having read past guest comments we booked this hotel for 3 nights starting on a Sunday. From check in to check out everything went smoothly. The room which was on the seventh floor front was clean , the bed very comfortable , the bathroom compact but well appointed including good quality soft towels. Found the herring bone parking a little difficult to get out of as the spaces are quite narrow which reduces the room to swing , particularly if between large or poorly parked vehicles. The room safe wasn't working on arrival but that was quickly fixed once reported. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajs-mjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Plaza H, General Manager at Bay Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Good afternoon,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your lovely review and feedback. The Team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay; in particular our central location and the level of service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bay Plaza Hotel for another memorable stay. Regards, Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews