We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$180
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Priceline
US$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Hotels.comUS$180
travelup.comUS$166
FindHotelUS$172
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,993)
Filter reviews
1,993 results
Traveller rating
862
791
246
66
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
862
791
246
66
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te papa great location family room courtney place superior room new world supermarket courtenay place easy walk great room car park harbour floor cbd cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 1,993 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2019 via mobile

On our arrival the staff were not very freindly. Car parking was $35 over night parking or find a pay and display on the street. We had a superior harbour view room. The view was good and the room very nice. The hotel was very convenient for wandering around town. The portions when using room service were very generous.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jtaylor145
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2019

Dear jtaylor145
I appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback regarding your accommodation experience. It is through such feedback that we can address any issues with our service delivery. I will be certain to address your check in experience with the team.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2019

Copthorne was the only hotel we could find in Wellington that offered an apartment for our family of 5 (2 adults plus three children 3,5 and 8). Value wise - it was an excellent option given that the apartment has 3 bedrooms; one with a King, and two bedrooms with 2 single beds each. So could have slept 6. Also had 1.5 bathrooms and a washer and dryer. Veiws from the balconies looked out over the road outside and across to the CBD and harbour. The kitchenette had a microwave, hot-plates and basic utensils/pots/pans. The apartment was clean and tidy, the furniture in the lounge was showing wear and the dining suite had only 3 chairs. But given everything else was A+ it did not distract from our stay and overall experience. As for the location - walking distance to Te Papa and Oriental Parade Beach. Though a little further away from the CBD for the kids, there is a bus route that passes the hotel and takes you right into the city and back again easy as. Other amenities that we found useful within 5 mins walk of the hotel: a couple of playgrounds and New World supermarket. Also a little further on from the supermarket there are a large group of shops/restaurants that cater for many tastes, Indian, Thai, a pretty good fish'n'chip shop and pizza. Definitely will visit again sometime.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
OnAir26130844286, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2019

Dear FarAway04545870129,
Thank you for your review and all the kind words. We are very happy to see you and the family had enjoyed your stay and our facility.
We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Regards, Kenny Vo, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019

I rarely give 5 but find myself struggling to justify taking off a mark for this lovely hotel.

Why? First, location over the bay is stunning coupled with easy walk into the city and outwards too.

Had a room on 7th floor with minor kitchen facilities, it was just what we needed, made own breakfasts while enjoying a view over the bay. Hotel has extensive food available but we did not avail ourselves but used very convenient cafes and restaurants.

Staff were friendly and helpful and if we came back would definitely stay here.

Room tip: Go for 7th floor with harbour view
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Middledene
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
OnAir26130844286, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Dear Middledene,
Thank you for the 5 stars and also all the kind comments. I am very happy to hear you enjoy our hotel and facilities.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Kenny Vo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019

Room was perfect with seesight , kingbed , airco, safe and refigarator.
Breakfast was Europeanen with choice for a full or normal option.
From the hotelmto the citycentre was a 20 minute walk.
The harbour was 5 minutes.
Service from the hotel was average
You cann getvaddional valet parking . That was a good service. At the oppositie of the hotel is a good restaurant coenes with a seaview.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 903ceesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
OnAir26130844286, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Dear 903ceesv,
Thank you for your comments. I hope you enjoyed your stay.
Kind Regards,
Kenny Vo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019

This was a return visit, this time with our daughter and her partner (visiting NZ for the first time).The reservation had been made via Booking.com and an important detail of the accommodation had been overlooked. The Staff came up trumps in promptly resolving the issue.Proximity to Te Papa was convenient, for an early entrance, and walking distance to Lambton Quay, Cable Car, etc. The '180degree' restaurant provides excellent dining and breakfast options.Valet parking adds just that extra bit of convenience. Top-notch!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Thank Timponey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
OnAir26130844286, Guest Relations Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2019

Dear Voyager64160381960,
Thank you for your comments. Happy to have you home again and I am very glad to hear the staff managed to take care of you. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kenny Vo
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews