We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,795)
Filter reviews
1,795 results
Traveller rating
782
725
210
54
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
782
725
210
54
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews te papa great location oriental parade family room small balcony harbour view superior room across the road valet parking courtney place new world supermarket free wifi top floor new zealand courtenay place duty manager late check
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,795 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018

A request to stay on the highest level for my room booking was confirmed by email but ignored by staff when checking in. The bar and restaurant furnishings were tatty and thread bare and needed repair.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Thank vbenezis2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarynM230, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi vbenezis2018

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback.

We are currently in the process of upgrading our bar and restaurant furniture. We are looking forward to showing off the results!

Hopefully next time we can accommodate you on a higher level, I am sorry that this request wasn't granted for your stay.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel, which was located across the street from the water with a nice view from the front. The room was spacious and quite nice, although the balcony was quite small and I was unable to step out on such a small spot. The staff was very friendly and the food was good.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jeannie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarynM230, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Jeannie,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate you time.

We pride ourselves of providing the best friendly service possible, so pleased you recognised this,

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Loved our stay here!

The highlight of our stay was the size of the room. The rooms were spacious and clean. We had a balcony with an amazing view of the harbour.

Bathroom was a good size, had all the toiletries you needed e.g. shampoo, soap, toilet paper, lotion, shower cap etc.

Theres an ironing board, safe, and wardrobe to put your belongings in. Pretty much had everything you need.

The bed is MASSIVE and very comfy! I saw alot of other reviews about the hotel being outdated but it really isnt. The hallways, yes and there is abit of wear n tear but barely noticeable.

Copthorne is a very shorr walk to Courtney Place but is also located along the harbor on the quiet end so you wont have any issues with drunk, noisy people.

Only faults was that we had no exhaust fan in our bathroom and the fridge is extremely small so you cant fit any extra things in there other than the items already stored in there.

Staff are lovely and always jumping to give you a hand.

Saw a lot of average reviews so my expectations were fairly low although after staying here I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Wellington!

Well worth the money!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LolenaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarynM230, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LolenaE

Thanks for your review, I am so very pleased that we surpassed your expectations!

We do have amazing views from majority of our rooms, we are looking forward to having you back again soon.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Our room for our family trip was a superior harbor view twin which with excited kids was a bit small so should of forked out more for space and got family room.Room was well maintained and had everything we needed, it was quiet with a excellent view all the way to the beehive. Close to Te Papa and Beach Babylon down at the bay.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Thank jmcnz2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarynM230, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi jmcnz2018

Thanks so much for your review.

Our family room is perfect for travelling with kids, its has two separate sleeping areas within the same room, it gives privacy but also close enough to be able to keep an eye on the kids. Definitely a room to try on your next family trip to Wellington.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We visited Wellington for the opening night of 2018 World of Wearable Arts. The loaction of the hotel meant we could walk to the venue in 15 minutes and return at approx 10.30 pm. The Wellinton waterfront is excellent and a very pleasant outlook. The following day we visited Te Papa museum. The room was very comfortable and extremely quiet. Would use again - no complaints

Room Tip: Make sure that you request a room overlooking the vista of the Wellington harbour on the 7th Floor
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AucklandFlyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarynM230, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear AucklandFlyingKiwi

Thanks so much for your review.

I hear that WOW was pretty amazing this year, I hope you enjoyed it.

The location of the hotel is pretty unique. It is right in town but majority of our rooms do have a spectacular view over the harbour.

Hope to see you again on your next trip to Wellington.

Thanks
Karyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews