We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meagre food but good service ”
Review of GasWorks

GasWorks
Ranked #423 of 1,063 Restaurants in Wellington
Price range: US$3 - US$17
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Eat . Drink . Enjoy. Great community local. Food cooked on gas.
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We went as a group of 6 for an early dinner and were mainly dissatisfied with the food. The chicken sandwich was a very small piece of greasy chicken between 4 slices of soggy white bread with a spoonful of coleslaw and a tiny smear of avocado and fries. The linguini was ok but just basic pasta and oil and the lamb shank was tasty but only a small amount of mash on the plate. For a supposed cheap restaurant the size and quality of the food made it actually not value for money ,very disappointing and quite expensive for what you got.
Also the meals came out one by one with myself being served first and had almost finished by the time my mother in law got hers which was really annoying. On a plus note the staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Wouldn’t be going back again as there are too many better places to eat in the eastern suburbs.

Thank Steve265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 July 2018

Hi Steve, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience. We are sorry that it wasn't a positive one. We take all feedback very seriously and will take your comments on board and hopefully improve going forward. We would love for you to come back and give us the chance to redeem ourselves as we are confident that we are capable of doing so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

A great choice for a relaxing meal with fantastic service.
A typical ‘American’ style menu with ribs, burgers, sundaes etc. I had the beef burger which was perfectly cooked and delicious. Also loved the deep fried banana split.
Good for a casual well priced meal.

Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 June 2018

Hi Lisa, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We try to look after each and every guest the very best we can and are delighted you enjoyed your experience. We are looking forward to having you back at Gasworks again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Very casual, great pub atmosphere, French open on the telly and very friendly and helpful staff - that's you Connor. We weren't starving so we had a light meal of chicken sandwich and chunky fries which were a solid nine out of 10 and a starter of calamari with seasonal veges which turned out to be yams. Yay. Will definitely go again for a great pub experience.

Thank ktpie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

The Gasworks team went out of their way to ensure we had a good night. Great service, nice burgers and good beer.

Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 June 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback.
We are happy to know that you had a good experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Good selection of food - except they were out of Lamb. We all enjoyed our choices. Very quite Sunday night - even though near airport.

Thank bob19472016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GasWorks also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to GasWorks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing