We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”

Leuven Belgian Beer Cafe
Ranked #78 of 1,082 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Beautiful for see this 18000 km from home. So funny see the menu in Dutch/Flemish. The meals are typical Belgium and the beers are good. Friendly staff and a clean restaurant

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 828pieterk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

Called in for early evening meal to be met with friendly servers, good choice on the menus of both food & wines and Belgium beers.
Enjoyed the mushroom starter but the mussels were over cooked and a little rubbery. About average prices with other places locally it was maybe just my choice.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank WinteringhamSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018

This is an excellent restaurant. There is a good variety of Belgian and NZ themed food.
The food and the range of beers is very good and the service is exceptional. Definitely a great place to try.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

As I wondered past Leuven, I was suddenly struck by how hungry I was, and popped in. The menu looks very enticing overall but I settled on the known quantity of Eggs Benny. The service that greeted me was very polite and cheerful for an early morning. The coffee I ordered was overly burnt, but I didn’t complain, not sure why, too early maybe? Then the Eggs Benedict I received was quite odd, I probably should have taken a photo. It was the largest piece of cooked salmon I’ve ever received (isn’t the salmon on a Benny supposed to be fresh?) and the eggs were a little runny. As was the hollandaise. BUT after all that whinging, it was actually really enjoyable and I ate the whole plate.
I would probably have opted for 3.5 stars, not an option, but since I’m generous, consider the extra .5 a reflection on the premises itself. Really quaint little (kinda big actually) place.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ChrisD272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

This is not the first time we have visited the Leuven. Staff are very friendly as is the owner, Toby. Thanks for the great time we had at dinner one night. We all gathered for breakfast each morning as well. Great venue and perfect location to gather.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leuven Belgian Beer Cafe also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Leuven Belgian Beer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing